Did you recently engage in an accident that was your fault? Are you aware of the penalties you might be facing in the event you broke one or more of California’s state laws? Our accident attorneys in Corona, California can advise you as to what these might be should you be seeking more information regarding your recent accident.
The penalties you might be up against will depend on what led you to engage in the accident. Were you driving while intoxicated? Did you run a red light or a stop sign? After the accident occurred, did you flee the scene? All of these will have an impact on how your accident case is handled and whether you are liable for monetary fines and/or required to serve time in jail.
 

What are the drunk driving penalties in Corona, California?

 
Many of the accidents that transpire in the city of Corona are caused by drivers who have consumed alcohol. And it doesn’t have to be a significant amount of alcohol. In fact, drivers who have consumed less than the legal limit of 0.08% can cause an accident depending on their tolerance level and how significant the impairment is.
However, if you were caught driving with alcohol in your system and you did engage in a crash, you are looking at the following penalties:
 

  • If the crash did not result in bodily injury and it is your first offense, California Vehicle Code §23152 says your violation is punishable by imprisonment for no more than 96 hours of which 48 must be continuous. You are also looking at a fine that can range between $390-$1,000. If it is a second offense and occurred within 10 years from when your first offense occurred or the accident resulted in bodily injury, you could be looking spending 90 days to one year in jail and a fine that could be between in an amount that is anywhere between $390-$1,000.

 
Something else to be aware of that our accident attorneys in Corona can touch upon is the fact that the injured party can file a personal injury lawsuit against you in the event they were seriously injured or a death occurred. If this does happen, you are going to want to have a dedicated and reliable accident lawyer in Corona working with you.
You can also expect that you will lose some or all of your driving privileges and you will be subject to paying additional fines and fees that stem from this incident.
 

How does an insurance companies determine fault in an auto accident?

 
Well, if you are found guilty for drinking and driving or fleeing the scene of an accident, there is a strong chance your insurance carrier is going to hold you accountable for causing the accident. However, speaking in general terms, most insurance companies will use a few different things before they can determine who was the one who caused the accident.
Some of the things your insurance company might use to help determine fault after a car accident includes:

  • A police report
  • Witness statements
  • Your statements
  • Vehicle damage
  • Injuries

If you are looking to become more informed about your accident and the role you play in it, contact USAttorney.com now to find a local accident attorney in Corona who can help you.