Driving without auto insurance in the state of California carries some hefty penalties if caught without it or if you engage in an accident. The state of CA currently requires all its drivers to be carrying the minimum coverage which consists of:
 

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $5,000 minimum
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: $3,500 minimum

[Source: Geico].
 
However, if you fail to comply with state requirements, you could be looking at some jail time, fees, fines, and even lose your driving privileges for an extended period of time. While every state operates differently and has different laws and penalties for when a driver isn’t properly insured, the state of CA has some pretty intense laws you might want to be aware of. And if you recently were involved in a traffic accident in Rialto, CA, and didn’t have insurance, you will want to consult with one of our Rialto accident lawyers as they can help to get your penalties reduced.
 

What are the penalties for driving without insurance in the state of California?

 
If you are caught driving without insurance and it is your first time doing so, you are looking at the following penalties:
 

  • Fines between $100-$200.
  • Penalty assessment fee. This fee is tacked on to the fine and you can expect to pay $26 for every $10. Therefore, a fine of $100 would have you also paying a penalty assessment fee of $260. So, your $100 fine just went from $100 to $360.
  • Traffic ticket if you caused an accident.
  • Your vehicle may be impounded and you will be charged towing and storage fees.
  • If you get involved in an accident, you may have your driver’s license suspended for one-year.

[Source: Value Penguin]
 
If you are caught driving without insurance for the second time in the state of California, you will likely be faced with:

  • A fine between $200-$500.
  • A penalty assessment fine of $520-$1,300.
  • Officer may impound your vehicle and you will be responsible for the towing and storage fees.
  • Your license could be suspended for up to four years.

 
Here’s where it gets serious. If you are involved in an auto accident and the damage exceeds $750, bodily injury, or even death, the Department of Motor Vehicles requires that you and the other driver report the accident and provide evidence of your financial responsibility. If you aren’t able to do so, your license could be suspended for a mandatory one-year period.
So, if you were recently involved in an accident and know that you weren’t carrying adequate insurance coverage, you will want to hire an accident attorney in Rialto, CA immediately as you will need some support for your case. There isn’t much room for leniency so you will need a professional who is well-versed with the law who can help persuade the judge overseeing your case to reduce the financial burden that is about to be placed on your shoulders.
USAttorneys.com is available to help you find a local accident lawyer in Rialto, CA now so go ahead and give us a call today.