Aside from understanding your auto insurance policy inside and out, you should also familiarize yourself with your state’s insurance laws if you haven’t done so already so that if you are involved in a wreck, you are familiar with how your claim is going to be handled. In the state of Florida, drivers are required to carry minimum limits of certain types of coverage. For instance, drivers must have purchased the following coverage if they want to comply with state laws:
- $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal Injury Protection insurance, which is also referred to as Florida No-Fault Insurance, will cover you for the injuries you sustain, regardless of whether the accident was your fault, up to the limits you purchased. You must have at least $10,000 in coverage. PIP doesn’t only cover you, but also your child, those living in your household, and even “certain passengers who lack PIP Insurance as long as they do not own a vehicle.” Those who are riding in your vehicle with you at the time of an accident who arecarrying their own PIP insurance would be provided with coverage through their own insurance policy.
- $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL)
PDL pays for any damage you or a member of your family causes to other people’s property in an accident involving a motor vehicle.
[Source: Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles].
While it might seem beneficial to have PIP, it has contributed to the increase of the overall cost of insurance making it more difficult for drivers to increase their limits or add on additional types of coverage that would help them in the event of a collision.And because Florida’s insurance rates are among some of the most expensive in the country, many individuals elect to only carry the minimum amount of No-Fault Insurance they are required to have. In fact, some even forgo purchasing any of the additional coverages that would help them if they were involved in an accident which means many Floridians are driving around underinsured or without enough coverage to cover the cost of a serious car crash.
What if I was involved in an accident with a driver who is only carrying the minimum amount of insurance?
If you were involved in a car accident with a driver in Fort Myers, FL who was only carrying PIP and PDL insurance and you suffered injuries, you will have to turn to your own insurance policy if you want to receive compensation for those injuries. But if you are only insured up to $10,000 for PIP, this may not be enough to cover your medical bills, especially if you are going to require ongoing care. So, what do you do?
You turn to a reliable accident attorney in Fort Myers, FL who can help you recover the additional amount of compensation you are needing.
Why does it benefit to hire an accident lawyer after engaging in a car collision?
Attorneys who have a great deal of experience in handling car crash cases in FL are able to:
- Help you collect the additional compensation you need from the at-fault driver when they are underinsured.
- Negotiate with the insurance company when they aren’t providing you with the maximum amount of compensation you are entitled to.
- Help you take legal action when the driver was uninsured which means they weren’t carrying anyinsurance coverage at all.
- Help you get your vehicle repaired, get a rental car, and collect additional compensation you might be entitled to for the damage your vehicle sustained.
The truth is, dealing with insurance companies can be tough and the last thing any accident victim wants to have to deal with are the struggles associated with getting their claim paid. So, rather than risk losing out on money you are rightfully due or having to wait a significant period of time before you are paid for your injuries, consider contacting the Chappell Law Group. Not only will this firm provide you with a free consultation, but they will visit you at home or in the hospital.
The legal professionals at the Chappell Law Group have helped past clients recover millions for their claims and will help you collect the amount you are eligible to receive based on the damages you suffered. To schedule a consultation with this firm now, call 239-337-9875.
The Chappell Law Group is located at:
5237 Summerlin Commons Blvd, Ste 366
Fort Myers, FL 33907