Teen Driver Requirements in the State of Georgia
 
Teen accidents are rather common as these young drivers are just learning how to operate a vehicle and maneuver on the roadways with various types of drivers. The Georgia Department of Driver Services is the government agency that distributes licenses to residents and even enforces state laws pertaining to driving on Georgia roadways. It is important for you to understand what requirements a teen must meet before they can operate a vehicle.
In the event your teen is already driving and was injured in an accident in Johns Creek, GA, we encourage you to contact us here at USAttorneys.com today. It is our goal to get you paired up with a local accident lawyer who can explain what forms of action you might want to consider taking so that your teen’s injuries are properly compensated and their medical bills are covered. To get you connected with a local lawyer in the city of Johns Creek, simply give us a call to begin working with an agent.
 

What program must my teen complete to receive their license?

 
TADRA, which is also recognized as Joshua’s Law, is a program that helps your teen prepare for driving. It begins when they are age 15 and it concludes when they reach the age of 18. This intense program is a three-step process and each time the teen driver passes one step, they graduate on to the next. What does TADRA look like? We explain that below.
 

  1. Step One- The first step is where the teen driver takes a written examination at the age of 15. Upon passing the written exam, the teen will be issued a learner’s permit and is able to drive with a passenger who is at least 21 years of age or older. They must have their own, unexpired Class C driver’s license.

 

  1. Step Two- After the teen driver has had their Instructional Permit for 12 months and passed a driving test, they then graduate on to receiving their Intermediate License as long as they are between the ages of 16 and 18. However, there are some restrictions that go along with having an Intermediate License. These include:

 

  • No driving between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m.
  • For the first six months, you cannot ride with a passenger who is not a member of your immediate family.
  • During the second six-months, you can have one other passenger who must be 21 years or older.
  • After the second six-months, you can no more than three other passengers in the vehicle that are 21 years of age or older.

Your teen is also required to complete a driver education course that is approved by the Department of Driver Services along with 40 hours of other supervised driving, including at least six hours at night.
 

  1. Step Three- Once your teen meets all the requirements in step two and they are 18 years of age, they move on to receiving their full license, which is considered a Class C License.

 
To find a customer service center closest to Johns Creek, GA you where you can receive more information on the program, click here.
 
If you are in need of legal support as your teen was the victim of an unfortunate car accident, contact us now. Our accident attorneys in Johns Creek, GA are qualified and experienced to help you and your teen file a claim or even a lawsuit if another party was at-fault for causing the accident.