What if I get into an accident with an uninsured motorist?
 
When driving on the roadway, we surround ourselves with various types of individuals. Some are attentive and cautious while others are distracted. Some carry high insurance limits on their policy while others aren’t carrying any insurance coverage at all. Unfortunately, when a motorist neglects to carry insurance, they place other drivers in an uncomfortable position if an accident occurs. Many drivers often turn to their insurers or that of the other driver after an accident, but what if there is no insurance company to turn to? What if you were involved in an auto accident with an uninsured driver in the city of Las Cruces?
Sadly, this happens a lot in the state of New Mexico and it is important that you are aware of the actions you must take when this scenario becomes a reality.
 

What should I do if I get involved in an accident with an uninsured driver?

 
After engaging in a crash, one of the first things you are expected to do given that you are physically able to is exchange information with the other driver. This includes their name, tag number, and insurance information. When a motorist is unable to produce this information, while you might want to panic, it is important that you remain calm and keep your mind clear. Because it is against the law to operate a vehicle without insurance in the state of New Mexico, once a police officer arrives on scene, they are going to take action as they deem necessary.
Currently, some of the penalties a driver will face for operating their vehicle without proper coverage includes:
 

  • The police officer who arrives on scene of the accident may confiscate the driver’s license plates.
  • Their registration will be suspended until valid proof of an insurance policy can be supplied.
  • The driver will be held guilty of a misdemeanor charge.
  • A $300 fine or 90-day jail sentence may be issued.

[Source: Value Penguin].
 
Now, because you were complying with New Mexico’s minimum insurance requirements, your policy should have these limits, or more:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person,
  • $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons, and
  • $10,000 for property damage in any one accident.

[Source: New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department]
 
While you may be able to recover compensation from your own insurance carrier, if your injuries are severe, you may also want to consider filing a personal injury lawsuit. If you elect to do so, you will want to have one of our reliable and trustworthy accident lawyers in Las Cruces, NM representing you. New Mexico isn’t a stranger to uninsured motorist accident claims, therefore, the attorneys we can connect you with have experience in handling these types of cases.
Before assuming that you won’t be able to collect the compensation that is necessary for your vehicle damage and medical bills, consult with an accident attorney in Las Cruces, NM first.