What is the minimum auto liability coverage needed to drive in Lawton, Oklahoma?
 
The State of Oklahoma requires that its drivers purchase the following insurance coverage limits when selecting a policy:
 

  • $25,000 for injury or death, per person.
  • $50,000 total for injury or death if multiple people were hurt in the accident.
  • $25,000 for property damage.

 
What does this mean exactly? Well, these are the minimum requirements and only reflect the lowest amounts of coverage a driver has to carry, but it certainly doesn’t mean it is the only coverage a driver needs. You can purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and even increase these limits if you choose to. But, be prepared to pay a little more for your insurance premium as more coverage generally means more money coming out of your check monthly.
Now that you understand what limits you must have, it is also important for you to be aware of what these numbers mean and how they apply to your car crash claim if you were recently involved in an auto collision in Lawton, Oklahoma. If the accident you were involved in was caused by you and another individual sustained an injury, you would be responsible for covering the costs associated with their injuries.
So, let’s say you only purchased the minimum insurance coverage which is the amounts listed above. Because you were at-fault for causing the accident, the state of Oklahoma requires that drivers guilty of causing an accident are held financially responsible. That means the claim is going to be filed through your insurance carrier. Your insurance will pay up to $25,000 for the person’s injuries and payment will cover their medical bills that have accrued for the care they had to have rendered. The insurance carrier will also provide up to $25,000 for property damage if necessary in the event the crash resulted in damage to the person’s car, home, or other property belonging to them.
But what happens if $25,000 isn’t enough? This is often an issue many individuals run into after engaging in an auto accident and it could mean you are at risk of being sued for the remaining amount of money they are trying to collect. So, what can you do to protect and prepare yourself? Hire an accident attorney in Lawton, Oklahoma to represent you. USAttorneys.com can work with you now to locate an accident lawyer in your area who is available to provide you with the assistance you are going to need.
 

How long does a person have to bring a lawsuit against me for their injuries in a car accident?

 
Oklahoma statute 12§95(A)(3) requires that a person file a personal injury lawsuit for their injuries within two years if they believe it is necessary to do so.  After two years have passed and no lawsuit has been filed, they are not permitted to pursue you any longer for compensation for their injuries and/or property damage.
If your recent accident has resulted in serious bodily injury to someone else, it is extremely important that you contact us today so we can pair you up with a local Lawton, OK accident and injury attorney. There is a lot of information you are going to need and these are the professionals to provide it to you.