Greensboro, NC- In 2014, fatal accidents in North Carolina took the lives of 1,277 people and left over 110,000 people injured, according to the North Carolina Department of Transportation. A traffic collision, depending on the circumstances, has the potential to change the course of a victim’s life, for the worst in too many cases. That is why many accident victims choose to file personal injury suits, but if they want their claim to be successful, there are important things accident victims should know.
Before you take any action, USAttorneys recommends you speak with an accident lawyer who has a thorough understanding of North Carolina’s personal injury laws. We suggest you call the Law Offices of Boyce Garland at 704-867-1113 and set up a case evaluation. Personal injury attorney Boyce Garland has years of experience, and you can visit his website to find out more about him at http://jboyceattorney.com.
If you plan on filing a personal injury claim in North Carolina, you must submit your claim before the statute of limitations expires. Whether you were injured in an auto accident, commercial truck accident or was the victim of medical malpractice, you have three years from the date your injury occurred to file your claim. If you miss that deadline, your case will be dismissed and you won’t be able to recover any compensation.
Another thing you should know what types of compensation you are entitled to for your injuries. They include financial damages for your medical expenses, property damage and loss of wages. Accident victims are also sometimes entitled compensation for their mental anguish and punitive damages. If an accident leaves you with debilitating or incapacitating injuries, you may also be entitled to compensation for your future medical expenses and the costs of your daily care. An accident lawyer can determine what types of compensation you are entitled to for your injuries and will do everything in their power to obtain a fair settlement on your behalf.
A final important thing to note is that you can file a personal injury claim even if you may have played a role in your crash. North Carolina has a modified comparative negligence rule which allows an accident victim to seek compensation for an accident as long as they were not assigned 50 percent or more liability for a crash. For instance, if you are assigned 20 percent of the liability, you can only recover 80 percent of the final award amount, but if you are assigned 50 percent of the liability, you won’t be able to collect any compensation. It would be wise to speak with legal counsel to determine if you have a solid case.
We only discussed a few of the important things you need to know about your North Carolina personal injury claim. It is crucial that you understand all of your rights if you were injured in car or truck accident. Otherwise, you could be shortchanged and not receive all of the compensation you deserve. We recommend you contact the office of Attorney J Boyce Garland Jr. in Gastonia and set up a consultation today.