Looking For Nevada Car Accident Lawyers and Attorneys?

Any motorist on the road is at risk of making a mistake or being hit by a careless driver. And when they are, they may consider hiring an accident lawyer in Nevada and trying to obtain compensation for their injuries and other economic damages resulting from a crash.

Insurance Requirements in Nevada

In Nevada, motorists must have minimum auto insurance coverage of:

$15,000 per person for bodily injury

$30,000 per accident for bodily injury, and

$10,000 per accident for property damage.

The costs of many accidents exceed Nevada’s minimum coverage requirements, and most victims cannot afford, nor should they have to cover those expenses.

What Happens if the Costs of an Accident Exceeds Coverage?

If the costs of your accident exceed the at-fault driver’s insurance coverage, you have a couple of options to recover your economic losses. One way is to negotiate with an insurer for a better settlement, or, secondly, you can go to court and let a judge or jury decide how much compensation you will receive.

Car vs. Pedestrian, Bicycle and Motorcycle Crashes

The majority of car crashes involve two or more automobiles, but traffic accidents also harm bicyclists, pedestrians, and motorcyclists.

Pedestrian accidents- If you were hit by a car as a pedestrian, you have the right to recover compensation. Under Nevada’s traffic laws Section 484B.283, motorists must yield to pedestrians in a crosswalk.

Bicyclists- Bicyclists are required to follow the same traffic laws as motorists and can be ticketed if they violate those rules. In turn, motorists must share the road with bicyclists and take care not to collide with a bicyclist.

Scooters/ Mopeds- Scooter or Moped drivers must follow traffic rules like all other motorists, but they are not required to carry insurance which means victims of scooter and car accidents could have difficulties recovering compensation.

Motorcycles-Like bicyclists, and scooter drivers, motorcyclists must obey the same traffic laws as motorists ( https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-486.html#NRS486Sec331) Section 486.331. While motorcyclists sometimes act recklessly, the majority of motorcycle vs. car crashes are caused by car drivers.

If you are hit by a car, whether you were walking, riding a motorcycle or driving a car, a negligent driver and any other persons responsible for your injuries may owe you compensation.  To see if you are eligible for accident compensation, contact an accident lawyer in Nevada.

What Should I Know About Accident Claims in Nevada?

Each state has different personal injury laws which affect how a victim’s case is resolved that is why it important to speak to a local lawyer. Nevada limits the time you have to file an injury claim to two years from the date your injury occurred.

There may be other laws that could change when you file your claim, what kind of compensation you are entitled to and how you resolve your case. Set up a consultation and learn how a car accident lawyer can get you the settlement you need.

Loading...