If you were involved in a car accident within the state of South Carolina, while you are going to want to file a claim through your insurance carrier to help get you the compensation you require, it is also important that you understand what your responsibilities are as a driver in the state.
Often times, accident victims find they are compensated less than they feel they deserve because they didn’t comply with all the state requirements or failed to provide adequate documentation that was requested by the insurer. While it is understandable that a victim of an auto accident may not be in their right mind as many crashes leave individuals suffering from life-threatening injuries, if you are looking to collect compensation, you have to be ready to take on the burden of the process it entails.
One of the reasons why USAttorneys offers the free services that it does is because many people who suffer from different damages after an accident need legal aid to successfully file a claim or win their case but aren’t quite sure where to look to find someone who is worthy of being hired. The South Carolina car accident lawyers featured on our site have years’ worth of experience in the field of auto collisions, are familiar with laws, can handle stressful and intimidating situations, and most importantly, will fight on your behalf for the compensation you truly are deserving of.
If you didn’t cause an accident or are partially at fault, you could be entitled to receive funds that cover the following damages.
- Property repairs
- Medical bills that have accrued and those you will be expected to pay in the future
- Loss of wages
- Loss of consortium
- Loss of value for your vehicle
- Pain and suffering
What are Some Requirements of Drivers in South Carolina?
Although you may be eligible to receive compensation, there are a few factors that could ultimately affect how much of it you receive. Take for instance the minimum insurance requirements. Because South Carolina is recognized as a “Fault” state, this means that the person who is responsible for causing the car accident is going to be liable for covering the costs of the damages, including some of the those mentioned above.
So, what are the minimum liability insurance requirements? Each owner of a vehicle must have the following coverage:
- $25,000 for the injury or death of a single person. This includes you, the other motorists, passengers, pedestrians, and other parties affected in the accident.
- $50,000 total for a single accident.
- $25,000 for any vehicle or property damage you cause as a result of the collision.
Another way the state requires you to protect yourself is by making you carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. The minimum coverage you must carry is:
- $25,000 for property damage
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
The information was provided by dmv.org and it is also stated that the purpose of uninsured coverage is to provide you with a way to collect compensation for damages when another driver doesn’t not have coverage.
Let a Car Crash Attorney in SC Provide You with Advice Pertaining to Your Case
If you wish to learn more about what you need to do after being involved in an auto accident and the amount of compensation you may be entitled to receive, call us today and we will gladly place you in touch with a trustworthy South Carolina car accident lawyer located in your city.