Even though many of us never think twice before we get behind the wheel, our roads in Pennsylvania continue to be a notable hazard. Every year, innocent people are injured or even killed. In the modern era, getting from point A to point B shouldn’t be a life-threatening scenario. Unfortunately, new crashes continue to remind us of how dangerous our roads can be.
If you have been injured in a Pennsylvania car crash, it’s important to reach out to a qualified, experienced personal injury attorney as soon as possible. These legal professionals can help you pursue meaningful compensation in an efficient manner, and they’ll fight for your rights as a victim. You can also team up with a personal injury attorney if your loved one has passed away in a car crash, and they’ll help you file a wrongful death claim.
Deadly Crash Claims One Life
In February of 2021, a deadly crash in York reminded Pennsylvanian residents of how dangerous highways can be. The incident involved a pedestrian fatality, and it appears as though the individual was struck and killed by a tractor-trailer on I-93 N. The driver immediately called 9-11, and the police quickly arrived. All lanes were initially closed as the authorities handled the incident, and it took hours before traffic resumed as normal.
How Personal Injury Claims Work in Pennsylvania
If you’re thinking about filing a personal injury claim in Pennsylvania, it’s important to understand how the overall process works. First of all, the statute of limitations in the Keystone State states that you have only two years with which to file your personal injury claim after becoming aware of damages.
Secondly, it’s important to understand that Pennsylvania follows a “modified comparative fault” system. This means that you can still claim damages even if you were partly to blame for the accident that caused your injuries. However, the Keystone State places limits on this. If you are more than 50% responsible for your own injuries, you cannot seek any compensation.
Finally, Pennsylvania is a “no-fault” car insurance state. This means that you can file an injury claim without ever determining who is at fault. Establishing negligence simply isn’t an issue if you’re only filing a claim with your insurance provider. That being said, there are limits to how much you can receive from just an insurance provider. According to the minimum requirements for Personal Injury Protection in Pennsylvania, you can expect to receive at least $30,000 per accident, plus a further $5,000 in medical benefits. If that isn’t enough to cover your damages, you might have to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver. However, you can only do this if you have suffered a “serious bodily injury.”
Enlist the Help of a Qualified Attorney Today
If you have been injured in a Pennsylvania car accident, you need to hold the at-fault parties accountable. Reach out to Frischman & Rizza at your earliest convenience, and we can help you pursue justice in an efficient manner. By filing a personal injury claim, you can ensure that negligent drivers are held accountable. In doing so, you can make sure that our roads are safer for everyone.
Frischman & Rizza
7300 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15208