Were You Charged With A DUI In Arkansas?

Whether you have been recently charged with a DUI infraction in the state of Arkansas or have been the victim of a drunk driving accident, there is still hope. A DUI lawyer from our network will ensure that you receive the benefits you are entitled to. Whichever DUI lawyer you choose from our team in Arkansas is specially trained in DUI cases and will see to it that all the necessary paperwork is completed and that the proper insurance companies and courts are contacted. Leave the tough stuff to your champion DUI lawyer and rest easy knowing your case is in the hands of an accredited professional.

In Arkansas, if you are found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or higher while operating a motor vehicle, such as a car, boat or airplane, you are considered to be driving under the influence. The state has a zero tolerance policy for DUI offenses and even motorists under the age of 21 may be charged with DUI as a criminal offense.

If you aren’t careful, your DUI charge may have lasting negative consequences on your record. You may find it hard to keep or get a job and can even face hardships when applying for financial aid. Driving while intoxicated is a serious crime, and in Arkansas, is punishable by several fines and penalties. If you wish to take your charge to court, you would benefit from hiring a top Arkansas DUI attorney to ensure the best possible outcome for your case.

What the State Considers DUI

In Arkansas, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle if you are found to be “intoxicated.” The state considers a driver to be intoxicated if they have consumed alcohol, a controlled substance, any intoxicant, or any combination of the previous and are experiencing a decrease in reaction time, motor skills and judgment. In addition, a motorist is considered to be intoxicated in Arkansas if their impairment renders them a danger to themselves or to others.

You may be charged with DUI/DWI in Arkansas if:

• Your BAC level is at or above .08 percent
• You are a minor under the influence of alcohol or drugs
• You are a minor whose BAC level is at or above .02 percent

Implied Consent Laws

The state of Arkansas employs implied consent laws, meaning that anyone who operates a motor vehicle (i.e. a car, boat, motorcycle, etc.) in the state automatically gives their consent to be administered a blood, urine or breath exam to determine if they are under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Those who refuse to submit to testing will have their driver’s license automatically suspended for 180 days (on first offense) and will also be denied the ability to receive an interlock ignition device restricted license.

How DUI Punishments are Issued

In Arkansas, the punishments for DUI charges vary with the number of previous offenses that a motorist has incurred. An Arkansas DUI charge may result in any one or a combination of any of the following fines and penalties if a driver is found guilty:

1st Conviction

• Imprisonment from 24 hours to 1 year or must perform public service
• Imprisonment from 7 days to 1 year or must perform public service if there was a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle at the time of arrest
• Fines from $150-$1,000
• Suspension of driver’s license for 6 months
• Installation of interlock ignition device may be ordered
• May be ordered to perform community service
• Completion of alcohol education/treatment program
• Attendance of Victim Impact Panel

2nd Conviction

• Imprisonment from 7 days to 1 year
• Imprisonment from 30 days to 1 year if there was a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle at the time of arrest
• Fines from $400-$3,000
• Suspension of driver’s license for 24 months
• Installation of interlock ignition device may be ordered after 45 days of driver’s license suspension
• Completion of alcohol education/treatment program
• Attendance of Victim Impact Panel

3rd Conviction (Within 5 Years of the First)

• Imprisonment from 90 days to 1 year
• Imprisonment from 120days to 1 year if there was a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle at the time of arrest
• Fines from $900-$5,000
• Suspension of driver’s license for 30 months
• Installation of interlock ignition device may be ordered after 1 year
• Minimum 90 days community service
• Minimum 120 days community service if there was a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle at the time of arrest
• Completion of alcohol education/treatment program
• Attendance of Victim Impact Panel

4th Conviction (Within 5 Years of the First)

• Driver charged with Felony DUI
• Imprisonment from 1-6 years
• Imprisonment from 2-6 years if there was a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle at the time of arrest
• Fines from $900-$5,000
• Suspension of driver’s license for 4 years
• Installation of interlock ignition device may be ordered after 1 year
• Minimum 1 year community service
• Minimum 2 years community service if there was a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle at the time of arrest
• Completion of alcohol education/treatment program
• Vehicle may be seized if charge is incurred within 3 years of the first

Fighting Your Arkansas DUI Charge

If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated in Arkansas, you may feel as though your chances of overcoming your charges are grim. However, we are here to let you know that there is a way for you to beat your DWI charges. Contact one of our elite DUI lawyers in Arkansas today to discuss your options and file a claim in court.

Without the help of an acclaimed Arkansas DUI attorney, you may face all of the aforementioned penalties. However, when a top DUI lawyer tackles your case, your charges may be significantly reduced or even wiped away altogether.

It’s time to fight for your rights following a DUI charge. Many times, motorists are arrested on suspicion of intoxication alone or are issued breath tests using a faulty device. Not to worry, when you have one of our exceptional Arkansas DUI lawyers working on your case, you can rest assured that you will not suffer punishments for a crime you did not commit.

Loading...

Pin It on Pinterest