Faced with a DWI Charge in Niagara Falls, NY?

 

If you have been accused of DWI in the state of New York or have had some close encounters with being caught while driving intoxicated, you may want to continue reading on so that you can become more aware of what the penalties are for engaging in this unlawful act. The first thing you need to know in the event you are facing a DWI conviction in Niagara Falls, NY is that there are five conditions that determine your level of impairment according to the New York Department of Motor Vehicles and those are:

photodune 7761295 conviction xs 300x200 Faced with a DWI Charge in Niagara Falls, NY?
A DWI conviction is going to rely on how much you drank, whether or not your driving was considered “aggravated,” and more.
  1. The amount of alcohol you consume
  2. The amount of food you eat before or while you drink alcohol
  3. The length of time you drink alcohol
  4. Your body weight
  5. Your gender

 

The Potential Penalties You Could Be Facing

Below is a breakdown of the crime, the mandatory fine, the maximum jail term, and the mandatory drivers license action that is taken against you. Keep in mind that if you have yet to be convicted for the offense, you are going to want to hire one of our reputable and skilled DWI attorneys in Niagara Falls to ensure that you aren’t charged with the maximum punishment, and hopefully get some of the other charges reduced if the judge finds you guilty of the crime.

Driving While Intoxicated(DWI) or Driving While Impaired by a Drug (DWA-Drug)

Fine- Between $500-$1,000

Jail Time- 1 year

Action taken against your license- For DWI, it will be revoked for at least six months and for DWAI-Drugs, suspended for at least six months.

 

Second DWI or DWAI-Drug

Fine- Between $1,000-$5,000

Jail Time- 4 year

Action taken against your license- For DWI, it will be revoked for at least one year.

 

Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (AGG DWI)

Fine- Between $1000-$2,500

Jail Time- 1 year

Action taken against your license- For DWI, it will be revoked for at least one year.

 

Second AGG DWI in 10 years (E felony)

Fine- Between $1000-$5,000

Jail Time- 4 year

Action taken against your license- For DWI, it will be revoked for at least 18 months.

 

Another thing you need to know is that if you refused the chemical test, the charges and penalties you face are going to differ from those mentioned above. That is recognized as a crime within itself and you are also going to want to have a well-versed DWI lawyer in Niagara Falls representing you who can explain why it is you didn’t take part in the one form of proof that officers use to identify a drunk driver aside from their behavior.

 

Let USAttorneys Provide You with the Help You Need

Being aware of the consequences you face for your actions is important and allows you to see what is applicable to you or not. Too often are individuals charged with crimes they didn’t commit or face penalties that don’t exactly fit the offense. To ensure your case is handled property and fairly, let USAttorneys find you a top of the line DWI lawyer in New York who will make certain your rights are upheld and you aren’t wrongfully charged.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

By | 4:21 am | Categories: DUI News | 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *