Select your county to be connected with a local attorney

Get A DUI Lawyer In Hawaii Before It's Too Late

Many people who are charged with a DUI infraction in Hawaii are not aware of the full slew of rights they are entitled to. By having a skilled DUI lawyer from our team represent you, your DUI case will be handled swiftly. With so many cases of insurance fraud and scams, it is difficult to decipher whether you are the victim of a DUI conspiracy or not. Leave it to an expert DUI lawyer in Hawaii to get to the bottom of your case and assure you get the compensation you deserve. Contact us today to see how a top DUI lawyer in your area can help get you DUI case dismissed.

In Hawaii, state laws prohibit the operation of a motor vehicle (car, boat, plane, etc.) with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08 percent or higher. A BAC level of .08 is the standard, however, there are stricter penalties in place for drivers who exceed the standard limit. Anyone who is found to have a BAC level of .15 percent or higher is deemed a “Highly Intoxicated Driver.”

The laws for minors and commercial drivers are different than those of regular motorists. Minors (persons under the age of 21) will be convicted of DUI if their BAC level is at or exceeds .02 percent. Commercial drivers will be charged with DUI if their BAC level exceeds .04 percent.

Hawaii’s Implied Consent Law

Like many other states, Hawaii has an implied consent law in place. Any motorist in the state automatically gives officers the right to check their blood alcohol/drug content via a breath, blood or urine test. However, unlike other states, motorists may decline to submit to a chemical test.

New Hawaii DUI Laws

As of 2011, there are new drunken driving (DUI) laws in the state of Hawaii. Those arrested for driving under the influence in the state will be required to pay for the installation of an interlock ignition device (IID) as well as a monthly leasing fee of $89 for the device. An IDD requires that a motorist provide a “sober” breath sample in order to start the vehicle. The state’s Administrative Driver’s License Revocation Office will also revoke the DUI offender’s driver’s license and issue a temporary driving permit that shows the requirements for the IID.

First time Hawaii DUI offenders who exceed the minimum BAC limit and who refuse to submit to alcohol testing will be subject to having their license revoked for 1 year, but may be able to drive with an IID. Any subsequent DUI violations will lead to an increase in the license revocation period.

What Type of Penalties do Hawaii DUIs Incur?

Any motorist found guilty of driving while intoxicated in Hawaii will be subject to pay fines and fees as well as incur other punishments which may include community service, jail time, or a combination of several punishments. The severity of the punishment is contingent upon the number of previous DUI offenses a motorist has incurred. Penalties include:

1st DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 48 hours to 5 days (48 additional hours required if motorist was carrying passenger under 15 years of age)
• Fine from $150 to $1,000 (additional $500 imposed if motorist was carrying passenger under 15 years of age)
• Driver’s license suspended for 90 days (special driving permit may be allowed)
• Driver’s license suspended for 30 days (limited driving contingent upon court approval)
• Driver’s license suspended for 6 months if BAC level exceeds .15 percent (driving prohibited)
• Special Fund Surcharge imposed from $25-$50
• Minimum 72 hours community service
• Mandatory completion of substance abuse/education program (14 hours minimum)

2nd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 5 to 14 days (48 additional hours required if motorist was carrying passenger under 15 years of age)
• Fine from $500 to $1,500 (additional $500 imposed if motorist was carrying passenger under 15 years of age)
• Driver’s license suspended for 1 year
• Special Fund Surcharge imposed from $50-$75
• Minimum 240 hours community service
• Mandatory completion of substance abuse/education program (14 hours minimum)

3rd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 10 to 30 days (48 additional hours required if motorist was carrying passenger under 15 years of age)
• Fine from $500 to $2,500 (additional $500 imposed if motorist was carrying passenger under 15 years of age)
• Driver’s license suspended from 1 to 5 years
• Special Fund Surcharge imposed of $50
• Minimum 240 hours community service
• Mandatory completion of substance abuse/education program
• Vehicle forfeiture

4th DUI Conviction

• Considered Class “C” Felony
• Dubbed “Habitual Offender”
• Minimum 10 days in jail
• Imprisonment for 5 years
• Probation for 5 years
• Mandatory revocation of license for no less than 1 year
• Mandatory referral to substance abuse counseling
• Mandatory completion of substance abuse/education program

Getting Help for Your DUI in Hawaii

If you have been charged with driving under the influence in Hawaii, you need to seek legal help immediately to contest your charges. Speak to a top DUI attorney in Hawaii today to discuss your options and file a claim. Your Hawaii DUI lawyer will represent you in court, negotiate a plea bargain and do whatever it takes to fight for your rights.

DUI attorneys care about your needs and will not rest until your charges are either significantly reduced or dropped altogether – especially if there is insufficient proof of your intoxication. Turn to a skilled DUI lawyer in Hawaii today to begin your case.

Loading...

Pin It on Pinterest