Were You Arrested For A DWI In Iowa?

Locating a top DUI lawyer in Iowa just got easier. Our network, https://usattorneys.com/dui-lawyers/, provides links to the best DUI lawyer in all of Iowa that can expertly handle your case. We also conveniently provide access to individual DUI lawyer profiles so you can hand-pick the DUI lawyer that suits your needs best. We even give you access to information regarding DUI infractions and helpful hotlines for you to call if you have any additional questions or concerns. Contact a top DUI lawyer in Iowa today to expedite your DUI case.

In the state of Iowa, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08 or above. This BAC limit applies to drivers that are over the age of 21. Motorists 21 years of age and under cannot drive in Iowa with a BAC level of .02 percent or higher.

Iowa DUIs are known as OWIs, or “Operating While intoxicated” charges. Iowa OWI laws apply to both alcohol and drug consumption. It is illegal to drive in the state with any amount of controlled substance in the blood. This includes marijuana, cocaine or other illicit drugs.

What are the Penalties for OWIs in Iowa?

Iowa OWI laws vary according to the number of times an OWI offender has incurred previous charges and whether or not the OWI resulted in harm to another person. The following are the penalties that a convicted OWI offender may face. Those convicted of OWI may be subject to one or several of the following punishments following their sentencing:

1st OWI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 48 hours – 1 year
• Fine from $625-$1,250
• Driver’s license suspended 180 days
• Driver may qualify for restricted license if BAC level was under .10 percent
• Ignition interlock device required if BAC level was above .10 percent
• Driver does not qualify for restricted license if BAC level was above .15 percent
• Driver may be ordered to undergo substance abuse evaluation/treatment
• Driver may be ordered to undergo “Drinking Driver’s Course”
• Driver may be ordered to perform community service

2nd OWI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 7 days – 2 years
• Fine from $1,875-$6,250
• Driver’s license suspended 2 years
• Driver may qualify for restricted license
o After 90 days if deferred judgment
o After 1 year if installed interlock ignition device
• Driver may be ordered to undergo substance abuse evaluation/treatment
• Driver may be ordered to undergo “Drinking Driver’s Course”
• Driver may be ordered to undergo “Abuse Reality Program”
• Driver may be ordered to perform community service
• Vehicle may be impounded

3rd OWI Conviction (and subsequent convictions)

• Considered Class “D” Felony
• Imprisonment from 30 days – 5 years
• Fine from $3,125-$9,375
• Driver’s license suspended 6 years
o Driver may be eligible for restricted license after 1 year and after ignition interlock device has been installed
• Driver may be ordered to undergo substance abuse evaluation/treatment
• Driver may be ordered to undergo “Drinking Driver’s Course”
• Driver may be ordered to undergo “Abuse Reality Program”
• Driver may be ordered to perform community service
• Vehicle may be impounded
• Driver may be ordered to enroll in program for the “supervision and treatment of OWI Violators”

Minors Charged with OWI in Iowa

Any minor who is caught driving with a BAC level at or above .02 percent but under .08 percent will have their license revoked for 60 days upon the first offense. Minors who refuse to submit to chemical testing will have their license revoked for 1 year. In Iowa, minors charged with OWI may not be eligible for a temporary restricted license.

Implied Consent Law in Iowa

The state of Iowa, like many others, has implied consent laws, which deem that state drivers agree to submit to chemical testing of their breath, blood and urine if an officer believes them to be under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Those who refuse the test will have their license revoked by the Iowa Department of Transportation.

The first time a driver refuses to submit to testing, their license will be suspended for 1 year and will forfeit eligibility for a restricted license for at least 90 days following the date of revocation.

Hiring a Top Iowa OWI Attorney

Any motorist found guilty of OWI in Iowa can expect to have their life radically altered for the worse. An OWI conviction can negatively affect a person’s chances of obtaining and keeping a job as well as other endeavors such as applying for a loan. If you have incurred an OWI charge, the sooner you contest it, the better your chances of having your charges dropped. Seek the help of an acclaimed OWI lawyer in Iowa right away to fight your charges in court.

Iowa OWI attorneys will not rest until your charges are either greatly reduced or wiped out altogether. Your Iowa OWI lawyer will investigate the incident to uncover any information in your favor and ensure that if there is insufficient proof of you having been under the influence of alcohol or drugs while operating a motor vehicle, that your charges will be cleared.

Get in contact with an esteemed Iowa OWI lawyer today to get started on your case.

Loading...

Pin It on Pinterest