Are You Looking For The Best DWI Lawyer In Louisiana?

No matter which DUI lawyer you pick from our roster of experts in Louisiana, you can rest assured that you are dealing with the best in the business. Each DUI lawyer on our team specializes in DUI cases and works hard to get your charges dropped if you have been accused or to get you the compensation you deserve if you are the victim of a drunk driver. To get your DUI claim started, simply contact a DUI lawyer in your area and set up a consultation today. Our acclaimed team of DUI lawyers in Louisiana is anxiously awaiting to serve your claim today.

In order for a motorist to be charged with driving while intoxicated or DWI, in Louisiana, they must be operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or above. If convicted, a motorist may incur both criminal and administrative charges. Criminal charges refer to the amount of jail time a DWI offender must serve, fines and fees as well as community service. Administrative charges refer to driver’s license suspension and points accrued. Enhanced penalties for DWI offenders in Louisiana begin after the .15 BAC level.

Louisiana BAC restrictions are lower for both minors and commercial drivers, who will be charged with DWI if their BAC levels are at or above .02 percent and .04 percent respectively. The Louisiana DWI law also covers drug consumption. If a motorist is found guilty of being under the influence of marijuana, amphetamines, barbiturates or any other drug, they punishments will be the same as for alcohol-related DWI charges.

The state is among few that require all DWI offenders – even first time offenders – to install ignition interlock devices. An ignition interlock device is a form of breathalyzer test that evaluates your BAC level before you are allowed to operate your vehicle. If you pass, you will be allowed to turn on the ignition, if not, you are prevented from driving.

Louisiana also has a “safe harbor” law which deems that motorists found to have a BAC level under .05 percent is not intoxicated. Those with BAC levels between .05 and .08 percent will not be charged with DWI either.

Types of Louisiana DWI Penalties

The following are the types of punishments a motorist may incur if they have been convicted of DWI in Louisiana:

1st DWI Conviction

• Considered misdemeanor
• Imprisonment up to 6 months
• Fine of $1,000
• Driver’s license suspended 90 days
• If under 21, license suspended for 6 months
• Must install ignition interlock device

2nd DWI Conviction

• Considered misdemeanor
• Imprisonment from 48 hours to 6 months
• Fine of $1,000
• Driver’s license suspended 1 year
• Must install ignition interlock device

3rd DWI Conviction

• Considered felony offense (if DWI is within 10 years of previous two)
• Imprisonment from 45 days to 5 years
• Fine of $2,000
• Driver’s license suspended 2 years
• Required to complete substance abuse treatment for 6 weeks inpatient
• Required to complete 30 days community service
• May qualify for house arrest for remainder of sentence
• Must install ignition interlock device

4th DWI Conviction

• Considered felony offense
• Imprisonment from 75 days to 30 years
• Fine of $5,000
• Driver’s license suspended 2 years
• Vehicle may be seized and sold
• Required to complete substance abuse treatment for 6 weeks inpatient
• Required to complete 40 days community service
• May qualify for house arrest for remainder of sentence
• Must install ignition interlock device

Implied Consent Laws in Louisiana

Like many other states, Louisiana imposes an implied consent law, in which any Louisiana motorist must subject to a chemical test to determine alcohol or drug intoxication. The driver must take a blood, urine or breath test as issued by an arresting officer, or be subject to additional penalties. Motorists that refuse to be tested will have their driver’s licenses suspended for 180 days for the first refusal and 545 days for the next.

Obtaining Legal Help

The state of Louisiana has extremely strict DWI laws. All motorists must install an interlock ignition device, repeat offenders could face several decades in jail, among many other stringent penalties. If you have incurred a DWI in the state of Louisiana, turn to a top DWI lawyer for help immediately to contest your charges.

Motorists in Louisiana have only 15 days to request a hearing or their license will be suspended. Without a skilled Louisiana DWI attorney, you may have to pay costly fines on top of going to jail and all the other penalties that can be imposed. However, with the assistance of an elite DWI lawyer in Louisiana, you can rest assured that your case will end with the best possible outcome. Your paralegal will work day and night to make sure that your charges are either substantially reduced or eliminated altogether.

Speak to an acclaimed Louisiana DWI lawyer today to get started on your case and fight for your rights.

Loading...

Pin It on Pinterest