Find A Local DUI Lawyer In Montana To Help You

Need a top DUI lawyer in Montana? We’ve got them! Throughout our website, you will find access to all the best DUI lawyers in the state who can help both victims of DUI cases or those accused of driving under the influence. Each DUI lawyer in our network will help you fill out necessary forms, contact police and insurance companies and minimize your costs. Call today for a consultation with the DUI lawyer in Montana that is right for you.

Like in other states, Montana’s driving under the influence law states that any motorist found to be operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent and above will be charged with DUI. Different DUI laws apply to motorists who are under the age of 21 as well as commercial vehicle drivers. For minors, the BAC limit is .02 percent and for commercial vehicle drivers it is .04 percent.

In Montana, a DUI not only accounts for alcohol consumption but drug consumption as well. Drivers who are found guilty of DUI in Montana will be subject to pay expensive fines, enroll in substance abuse treatment programs, may be required to install an ignition interlock device or may be sent to jail.

In addition to standard DUI laws, Montana has what are known as Potential DUI Laws, in which a motorist may be charged with being under the influence with a BAC level of .04 percent. Conversely, there are also stricter punishments for motorists found driving with a BAC level of .16 percent or higher. Those found to exceed .16 percent are charged with aggravated DUI.

What Happens to DUI Offenders in Montana that are Convicted?

DUI offenders convicted of driving under the influence may face several punishments. The severity of the punishment depends upon BAC level, whether or not there was minor in the car at the time of arrest, as well as the number of previous offenses. The following are the types of penalties imposed upon convicted DUI offenders:

1st DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 24 hours to 6 months
• Imprisonment from 48 hours to 12 months if there was a passenger under 16 in the vehicle
• Fine from $300 to $1,000
• Fine from $600 to $2,000 if there was a passenger under 16 in the vehicle
• Driver’s license suspended 6 months
• May qualify for ignition interlock device/probationary license
• Must complete chemical dependency education course or treatment

2nd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 7 days to 6 months
• Imprisonment from 14 days to 12 months if there was a passenger under 16 in the vehicle
• Fine from $600 to $1,000
• Fine from $1,200 to $2,000 if there was a passenger under 16 in the vehicle
• Driver’s license suspended 1 year
• May qualify for probationary license after 45 days if DUI offender pays for ignition interlock device
• Vehicle may be seized
• Must complete chemical dependency education course or treatment

3rd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 30 days to 1 year
• Imprisonment from 48 hou60 days to 12 months if there was a passenger under 16 in the vehicle
• Fine from $1,000 to $5,000
• Fine from $2,000 to $10,000 if there was a passenger under 16 in the vehicle
• Driver’s license suspended 1 year
• May qualify for probationary license after 45 days if DUI offender pays for ignition interlock device
• Vehicle may be seized
• Must complete chemical dependency education course or treatment

4th DUI Conviction

• Considered felony
• Imprisonment up to 5 years
• Fine of $10,000

Implied Consent Laws in Montana

There are implied consent laws in place in Montana which assume that a driver shall give consent to blood alcohol and drug testing by breath, blood or urine sample. The state implied consent law requires that motorists submit to a Preliminary Alcohol Screening test (PAS) in order for an officer to obtain an estimate of the driver’s alcohol concentration. If the motorist refuses to submit to testing, their driver’s license will be suspended for 6 months for the first refusal. Any subsequent refusal will cause the motorist to lose their license for 1 year with the possibility of being ordered to install an ignition interlock device.

Fighting Your Montana DUI Charge with a DUI Lawyer

If you have been charged with DUI in Montana, turn to a top DUI lawyer right away to fight for your rights. DUI convictions can ruin a person’s life, but with the help of an elite Montana DUI attorney, you won’t have to worry about that. Your paralegal will investigate the incident to find any and all evidence in your favor. If they find that you were unfairly charged with DUI, rest assured that your DUI lawyer in Montana will not allow you to suffer punishment for a crime you did not commit.

When you work with an acclaimed team of Montana DUI lawyers, you can rest assured that your case will end with the best possible outcome. Contact an esteemed paralegal today to discuss your options and fight for your rights.

Loading...