Find A New Jersey DUI Lawyer To Help You Today

Having a knowledgeable DUI lawyer in New Jersey fighting for your case has numerous benefits. For starters, you won’t have to deal with filling out police reports or contacting pesky insurance agencies. Moreover, you will have a skilled professional working on your behalf to eliminate the charges and have you move on from the case. There is an ideal DUI lawyer in New Jersey waiting for your call today.

In the state of New Jersey, it is illegal for a person to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Those found guilty of this crime will be arrested and charged with Driving While intoxicated, or DWI. There are numerous ways for a motorist to be charged with DWI. The most common is by having a blood alcohol content (BAC) level exceeding .08 percent at the time of arrest. This is the standard measure of alcohol impairment for drivers over the age of 21. The BAC minimum required for the arrest of a minor (driver under 21 years old) is only .01 percent and for a commercial vehicle driver it is .04 percent.

New Jersey DWI laws can be prosecuted in two ways. The first is called the “per se” law, in which a driver that is over the minimum BAC of .08 percent will be arrested, regardless of whether they showed signs of intoxication or not. The other method is by arresting a person if they exhibit physical intoxication, regardless of BAC level, such as by swerving while driving or failing a field sobriety test.

DWI Convictions in New Jersey are considered for 10 years from arrest date to the next arrest date and will affect repeat offender penalties. With every subsequent DWI a motorist is convicted for in New Jersey, their jail time, fines and other punishments increase.

New Jersey takes DWI charges very seriously. In 2005, New Jersey legislators adopted John’s law, in which police can impound the vehicle of drunk driver.

DWI Punishments in New Jersey

If you have been found guilty of DWI in New Jersey, you may be subject to the following penalties which will get stricter with every subsequent DWI conviction:

1st DWI Conviction

• Imprisonment up to 30 days
• Fine from $250 to $400
o $300 to $500 if BAC was at .10 percent or higher
• Driver’s license suspended 3 months
o 7 months to 1 year if BAC was at .10 percent or higher
• Ignition interlock device may be required
• Special DWI fee of minimum $525
• Automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 for 3 years
• Must attend Intoxicated Driver Resource Center for 2 days, 6 hours per day

2nd DWI Conviction

• Imprisonment up to 90 days
• Fine from $500 to $1,000
• Driver’s license suspended 2 years
• Ignition interlock device may be required
• Special DWI fee of minimum $525
• Automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 for 3 years
• Community service required for 30 days

3rd DWI Conviction

• Imprisonment up to 180 days
• Fine of $1,000
• Driver’s license suspended 10 years
• Ignition interlock device may be required
• Special DWI fee of minimum $525
• Automobile insurance surcharge of $1,500 for 3 years

In addition to these penalties, all DWI charges in New Jersey incur the following fees:

• $100 Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund Fee
• $100 Violent Crimes Compensation Fee
• $100 Motor Vehicle Restoration Fee
• $100 Intoxicated Driver Program Fee
• $100 State and Municipality Fee

Minors Convicted of DWI in New Jersey

Drivers under 21 years of age convicted of DWI (having .01 percent BAC or higher) will have their driver’s license suspended from 30-90 days and will have to perform community service from 15-30 days.

Implied Consent Laws in New Jersey

The implied consent law in New Jersey states that all motorists driving in the state must submit to a chemical test of their breath, blood or urine to determine alcohol or drug intoxication. If a motorist refuses, their driver’s license will be suspended for 1 year and will be fined between $250 and $500 for the first refusal. For the second refusal, the motorist’s license will be suspended for 3 years and for a third refusal it will be suspended for 10 years.

Hire a New Jersey DWI Lawyer Right Away

In New Jersey, DWI suspects are not granted a trial by jury. Instead, DWI cases are tried by a judge only. This is one of the main reasons why it is imperative to contact a New Jersey DWI lawyer for help in fighting your charges.

DWI attorneys fight for their clients’ rights and do whatever it takes to lower their charges or have them cleared altogether. Your New Jersey DWI attorney will investigate the incident to uncover any evidence that can be used in your favor. Rest assured that when you work with an elite DWI lawyer in New Jersey, your case will end with the best possible outcome.

Call an esteemed team of New Jersey DWI lawyers today to get started on fighting your charges.

Loading...

Pin It on Pinterest