Do You Need A Pennsylvania DUI Attorney?

A good DUI lawyer working on your case can mean the difference between having to pay the price of a DUI – like court costs, fines and possibly jail time – as opposed to walking away with a clean record. Find a top DUI lawyer in Pennsylvania easily with our help. A DUI lawyer will help eliminate your worries and take on all the responsibilities associated with your case.

In the state of Pennsylvania, if a driver is found guilty of operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, they will be arrested for DUI. A motorist can be found guilty of DUI for several reasons. The first is the standard measurement of intoxication, which is determined by blood alcohol level, or BAC. If a motorist’s BAC level is at .08 percent or above, they will be arrested for DUI.

The BAC levels for commercial vehicle drivers and minors (persons under 21 years of age) are lower, however. A commercial vehicle driver with a BAC of .04 percent will be arrested for DUI and a minor with a BAC level of .02 percent will also be charged with driving under the influence in Pennsylvania.

A motorist in Pennsylvania can also be arrested for DUI if they have consumed any amount of controlled substances, which include marijuana, cocaine, barbiturates, etc. DUI charges may also be incurred if the offender is in operation of a vehicle, which doesn’t necessarily mean that they are driving it. The vehicle may be parked, but as long as the offender is in physical control, they will get charged with DUI.

In Pennsylvania, the lookback period for DUI offenses is 10 years. This means that any DUI offender who committed a previous DUI within 10 years of the current charge will suffer stricter penalties.

Punishment for DUI Offenders

In Pennsylvania, the punishment for DUI offenders is divided into three categories: punishment for drivers with a BAC level from .08-.099 percent, those from .10 to .159 percent and those with BAC levels that exceed .16 percent. Punishments will vary in severity depending on how chemically intoxicated a motorist was at the time of arrest.

The following are the penalties for DUI offenders in Pennsylvania:

1st DUI Conviction

• BAC between .08-.099 percent
o 6 months probation
o Fine of $300
• BAC between .10-.159 percent
o Imprisonment from 2 days to 6 months
o Fine from $500-$5,000
o Driver’s license suspended for 12 months
• BAC at/above .16 percent
o Imprisonment from 3 days to 6 months
o Fine from $1,000-$5,000
o Driver’s license suspended for 12 months
o May be eligible for occupational license after 60 days
o May be required to install ignition interlock device
o Must attend alcohol highway safety school

2nd DUI Conviction

• BAC between .08-.099 percent
o Imprisonment from 5 days to 6 months
o Fine from $300-$2,500
o Driver’s license suspended for 12 months
• BAC between .10-.159 percent
o Imprisonment from 30 days to 6 months
o Fine from $750-$5000
o Driver’s license suspended for 12 months
• BAC at/above .16 percent
o Imprisonment from 90 days to 5 years
o Fine of $1,500
o Driver’s license suspended 18 months
o Ignition interlock device required
o Must attend alcohol highway safety school

3rd DUI Conviction

• BAC between .08-.099 percent
o Imprisonment from10 days to 2 years
o Fine from $500-5,000
o Driver’s license suspended for 12 months
• BAC between .10-.159 percent
o Imprisonment from 90 days to 5 years
o Fine from $1,500-$10,000
o Driver’s license suspended for 18 months
• BAC at/above .16 percent
o Imprisonment from 1 to 5 years
o Fine of $2,500 minimum
o Driver’s license suspended 18 months
o Ignition interlock device required
o Must attend alcohol highway safety school

Pennsylvania Implied Consent Law

The Pennsylvania Implied Consent Law states that all drivers must agree to a chemical test of their breath, blood or urine to determine alcohol and drug intoxication. Any motorist that refuses to be tested will have their license suspended for 1 year for the first refusal and will be considered guilty of DUI automatically. With each subsequent refusal for testing, the penalties will increase. In Pennsylvania, the penalties for refusing a chemical test are worse than those of the DUI itself.

Getting Help from a DUI Lawyer

If you have been charged with DUI in Pennsylvania, seek the help of a top DUI lawyer immediately to contest your charges. A DUI conviction can ruin your life, affecting you in all aspects including employment and finances. When you work with a skilled Pennsylvania DUI attorney, you can rest assured that your charges will be lowered significantly or dropped altogether.

Sometimes motorists are unfairly charged with driving under the influence. If this has happened to you, rest assured that your DUI lawyer in Pennsylvania will not allow you to suffer punishment for a crime you did not commit. When you team up with an elite Pennsylvania DUI lawyer, you can expect that your case will end with the best possible outcome.

Call today to schedule a consultation with a DUI attorney in Pennsylvania near you.

Loading...