Are You In Need Of A Tennessee DUI Attorney?

Attacking a DUI case on your own can prove to be a nightmare! Luckily, we can help you find the ideal DUI lawyer in Tennessee that can help you with your DUI case needs. Our top-quality DUI lawyers have the skills and expertise to handle DUI cases for both the accused and the victims. Don’t prolong your rights and benefits any longer; contact us today and set up a consultation with a first-rate DUI lawyer near you.

Tennessee Driving Under the Influence (DUI) laws are very strict. Anyone over the age of 21 who is caught operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or higher will be arrested and charged with DUI. The BAC limit for commercial vehicle drivers and minors (motorists under 21 years of age) are much stricter. Commercial vehicle drivers have a BAC limit of .04 percent and minors have a BAC limit of .02 percent.

In Tennessee, a DUI can also be incurred if the motorist was under the influence of drugs, such as marijuana, cocaine, barbiturates, etc. In addition, a motorist can be charged with DUI if they were under the influence of prescribed medications.

Implied Consent Laws for Tennessee

The state has implied consent laws in place with decree that anyone who is driving in Tennessee has automatically given consent to a test to determine the amount of alcohol or drug consumption in the blood. A motorist may refuse to submit to the test, however, severe penalties will be incurred. In Tennessee, refusing to be tested for intoxication is just as bad, or even worse than being found guilty of DUI.

The first time a motorist refuses testing, they will have their license revoked for 1 year. The second time a driver refuses, they will have their license suspended for 2 years. in addition, the motorist may STILL be convicted of DUI without a clear test to determine intoxication if the arresting officer can prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the motorist was impaired at the time of arrest.

Punishments for DUI Convictions in Tennessee

The following are the penalties that any motorist convicted of DUI in Tennessee may face:

1st DUI Conviction

• Misdemeanor
• Imprisonment from 48 hours to 11 months
• Fine from $350 to $1,500
• Driver’s license suspended 1 year
• Interlock ignition may be required if driver is guilty of the following:
o BAC was above .15 percent
o Driver had passenger under 18 years of age at time of arrest
o Driver refused chemical testing
• May have to undergo alcohol safety program
• May incur child endangerment penalties if passenger under 18 was in vehicle
• May be assigned for litter pick-up for three 8-hour shifts

2nd DUI Conviction

• Misdemeanor
• Imprisonment from 45 days to 1 year
• Fine from $600 to $3,500
• Driver’s license suspended 2 years
• Interlock ignition may be required if driver is guilty of the following:
o BAC was above .15 percent
o Driver had passenger under 18 years of age at time of arrest
o Driver refused chemical testing
• May have to undergo alcohol safety program
• May incur child endangerment penalties if passenger under 18 was in vehicle
• May be assigned for litter pick-up for three 8-hour shifts
• Drug/alcohol assessment and treatment
• Vehicle may be seized

3rd DUI Conviction

• Misdemeanor
• Imprisonment from 120 days to 1 year
• Fine from $1,100 to $10,000
• Driver’s license suspended from 3-10 years
• Interlock ignition may be required
• May have to undergo alcohol safety program
• May incur child endangerment penalties if passenger under 18 was in vehicle
• May be assigned for litter pick-up for three 8-hour shifts
• Drug/alcohol assessment and treatment
• Vehicle may be seized

4th DUI Conviction

• Class “E” Felony
• Imprisonment for 150 days minimum up to max possible for Class “E” Felony
• Fine from $3,000 to $15,000
• Driver’s license suspended at least 5 years to indefinitely
• Interlock ignition may be required
• May have to undergo alcohol safety program
• May incur child endangerment penalties if passenger under 18 was in vehicle
• May be assigned for litter pick-up for three 8-hour shifts
• Drug/alcohol assessment and treatment
• Vehicle may be seized

Fighting Your DUI Charge

You may be able to fight your DUI charge in court and have your charges lowered or even wiped out completely. All you have to do is speak to a skilled DUI lawyer in Tennessee immediately for assistance to file a claim.

Tennessee DUI attorneys know how easy it can be to get charged with driving under the influence and will fight diligently to ensure the best possible outcome for your case. They will investigate the incident thoroughly to make sure you were not unfairly charged. And if you were, you can rest easy knowing that your DUI lawyer will not allow you to suffer for a crime you did not commit.

Call today to schedule a meeting with a top DUI attorney in Tennessee.

Loading...