There’s a New Fine in Pennsylvania for Refusing to Take a Breathalyzer or Blood Test

DUI lawyers in Erie, PA

Effective today, Senate Bill 553 has made changes to Pennsylvania’s DUI laws that impact how much a DUI offender will have to pay to get their license back if they refused to take a breath or blood test. Generally, after a suspect is convicted of DUI, they are subjected to paying a restoration fee to get their license back. However, with the new laws that have taken effect, a person will automatically be subjected to paying a “restoration fee” for their license. The fees are as follows:

 

  • The first time a person refuses a breath or blood test, they are required to pay a $500 fee.
  • The second time a test is refused, a person has to pay $1,000.
  • The third time an individual refuses a test, they will have to pay $2,000. After three refusals, the fee remains at $2,000.

 

In the past, the restoration fee for a DUI offender to get their license back was $70. But, with the new fee schedule that has been established, these fees “would make it even harder for working-class or poor people to get their licenses restored” [Source: TRIB Live]. Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) is one organization that supports imposing these fines especially because it was established after a mother lost her child to a drunk driving accident.

When an officer pulls a suspected DUI driver over, they are required to inform them of these costs they could potentially incur. So, if a suspected DUI offender is on the fence as to whether they want to comply or not with the test, they have this fact that might help sway them in their decision making. These newly revised DUI laws are not only expected to help reduce the number of individuals from refusing to comply with officers but also to help cut down on the number of DUI arrests made. In return, the roadways would be safer with less drunk drivers out.

 

Do I have to submit to a breath or blood test when an officer suspects I am under the influence?

 

photodune 15965202 do i really have to do this xs 300x200 There’s a New Fine in Pennsylvania for Refusing to Take a Breathalyzer or Blood Test
To get the facts on what consequences a person will be faced with for refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test, contact a local Erie DUI attorney today.

While there are certain circumstances where you aren’t required to submit to a breath or blood test, you should be aware of the consequences you will be faced with. This fee is one penalty that would apply but don’t forget about all the others that have already been established and active. Because it is frowned upon for a potential DUI suspect to refuse an officer’s demands, there are harsh penalties a person is going to be faced with for this. For starters, you will likely have your license suspended for a longer period of time.

To learn more about what consequences a breathalyzer test refusal carries, contact a local DUI defense attorney in Erie, PA. And if you were recently arrested for DUI and are currently facing a charge for the crime, don’t attempt to represent yourself. Be sure you have a qualified and skilled Erie, PA DUI lawyer supporting you and protecting your rights. Should you need help locating an attorney, contact USAttorneys.com today for assistance.


By | 10:39 pm | Categories: DUI News | 0 Comments

Leave a Reply