Let USAttorneys.com Connect You With A DWI Attorney In Utah

At https://usattorneys.com/dui-lawyers/, we can help you find a top DUI lawyer in Utah that will help you end your DUI infraction battle. Years of experience in handling DUI cases have led our DUI lawyers to establish a premium reputation in the business. No matter which DUI lawyer from our network you choose to work with, rest assured that you have an accomplished professional handling your case and will ensure you the best possible outcome.

If a motorist is found to have been operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, they will be arrested and charged with DUI (driving under the influence). A DUI is a serious crime, punishable by multiple penalties, which include jail time, community service and the suspension of the motorist’s driver’s license.

There are a few ways in which a motorist may be charged with DUI. The first is by having a blood alcohol content level (BAC) of .08 percent or higher if the motorist is over the age of 21. For commercial vehicle drivers, the minimum BAC level needed for arrest is .04 and for minors (persons under 21 years of age), the state of Utah imposes a ZERO TOLERANCE policy, meaning any viable amount of alcohol or drug consumption is enough to merit a DUI charge.

A motorist may also incur a DUI charge in Utah if they are physically showing signs of impairment, are driving recklessly due to alcohol or drug consumption, if they refuse to take a chemical test to determine intoxication, if the motorist is driving with a metabolite of a drug within their system, if they caused bodily harm or death to another under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or if they were driving with a minor in the vehicle while under the influence. If there was in fact a minor in the vehicle at the time of the DUI arrest, even if the motorist is committing their first DUI offense, they will be charged with a Class “A” misdemeanor instead of a Class “B” misdemeanor, which will lead to stricter penalties.

Once a motorist is arrested for DUI in Utah, they will be subject to two separate hearings: one in criminal court and the other with the Driver License Division (DLD). The criminal case determines penalties such as jail time, fines and other fees while the DLD hearing determines the fate of the DUI offender’s driver’s license, which can be suspended for several years.

Utah DUI Penalties

If a motorist is found guilty of operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Utah, the following penalties may be incurred:

1st DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment minimum 48 hours, work service program minimum 48 hours or home confinement
• Fine of minimum $700
• Driver’s license suspended 120 days
• May be required to use electronic monitoring during home confinement
• May be required to participate in alcohol/drug assessment, education or treatment program

2nd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment minimum 240 hours, work service program minimum 240 hours or home confinement
• Fine of minimum $800
• Driver’s license suspended 2 years
• May be required to use electronic monitoring during home confinement
• May be required to participate in alcohol/drug assessment, education or treatment program
• Ignition interlock if 2nd DUI conviction was within 10 years of the previous

3rd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment minimum 1,500 hours
• Fine of minimum $1,500
• Driver’s license suspended 2 years
• May be required to use electronic monitoring during home confinement
• May be required to participate in alcohol/drug assessment, education or treatment program
• Ignition interlock if 3rd DUI conviction was within 10 years of the previous

Implied Consent Law in Utah

The state of Utah’s implied consent law states that any driver on Utah roadways must agree to a chemical test to determine intoxication. The chemical test may check the motorist’s blood, breath or urine. If the motorist refuses, they will have their driver’s license revoked for 18 months for the first DUI offense and 2 years for all subsequent offenses.

Seeking Legal Help

A DUI conviction can completely ruin a person’s life. While being charged with DUI can seem frightening, there is help readily available. If you have been charged with DUI in Utah, contact a Utah DUI lawyer immediately for assistance. DUI attorneys in Utah care about their clients and will do whatever it takes to ensure that your case ends with the best possible outcome.

Trust a top Utah DUI attorney today with your case. Whether you were falsely accused of driving under the influence or if in fact you had consumed alcohol or drugs prior to driving, you can rest easy knowing that your DUI lawyer in Utah will fight to have your charges either significantly lowered or dropped altogether.

Speak to a skilled team of DUI lawyers in Salt Lake City today to get started on your case.

Loading...