Were You Charged With A DUI In Wisconsin?

When people involved in a DUI case do not seek legal counsel from a reputable DUI lawyer, a lot can happen. If you have been accused of a DUI, you may be facing high fees, license suspension and rehab. If you are the victim, you may not get the full array of benefits you are entitled to after you have been affected by a DUI infraction. Call to set up a consultation with a renowned DUI lawyer in Wisconsin today to begin your battle with your DUI case.

The state of Wisconsin has unique Driving Under the Influence (DUI) laws in place which prohibit the consumption of drugs and alcohol while operating a motor vehicle. For persons over the age of 21, there is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit of .08 percent that if surpassed, will cause the motorist to be arrested. However, .08 percent is only allowable for the first offense. A motorist that has already been convicted of DUI once can be arrested again for only having a BAC of .02 percent.

Laws are stricter for both commercial vehicle drivers and minors. Commercial vehicle drivers need only have a BAC level of .04 percent on their first DUI offense to be arrested for driving under the influence. For minors, Wisconsin has a Zero Tolerance law in place which states that any person under the age of 21 will be arrested if they are found to have consumed any amount of alcohol or drugs.

Although BAC level is the main form of evidence used against a motorist who is suspected of DUI, an arresting officer in Wisconsin doesn’t actually need to see signs of possible intoxication before stopping someone who they suspect is driving under the influence. If a motorist is sitting in a vehicle in the park position or with keys in the ignition, this is enough to merit a DUI charge.

Penalties for Wisconsin DUI Offenders

The following penalties may be incurred by motorists found guilty of DUI in Wisconsin:

1st DUI Conviction

• Fine from $150-$300
• Driver’s license suspended from 6-9 months
• May be eligible for occupational license
• SR22 Insurance is required
• Mandatory alcohol assessment

2nd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 5 days – 6 months
• Fine from $150-$300
• Driver’s license suspended from 12-18 months
• May be eligible for occupational license after 60 days
o After 12 months if current DUI is within 5 years of the last
• SR22 Insurance is required
• Mandatory alcohol assessment
• Vehicle may be immobilized
• Ignition interlock device may be required

3rd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 30 days-1 year
• Fine from $600-$2,000
• Driver’s license suspended from 2 to 3 years
• May be eligible for occupational license after 90 days
o After 12 months if current DUI is within 5 years of the last
• SR22 Insurance is required
• Mandatory alcohol assessment
• Vehicle may be immobilized/seized
• Ignition interlock device may be required

4th DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 60 days-1 year
• Fine from $600-$2,000
• Driver’s license suspended from 2 to 3 years
• May be eligible for occupational license after 90 days
o After 12 months if current DUI is within 5 years of the last
• SR22 Insurance is required
• Mandatory alcohol assessment
• Vehicle may be immobilized/seized
• Ignition interlock device may be required

5th and subsequent DUI Convictions

• Imprisonment from 6 months-6 years
• Fine from $600-$10,000
• Driver’s license suspended from 2 to 3 years
• May be eligible for occupational license after 90 days
o After 12 months if current DUI is within 5 years of the last
• SR22 Insurance is required
• Mandatory alcohol assessment
• Vehicle may be immobilized/seized
• Ignition interlock device may be required

BAC Level Fines

In Wisconsin, fines are increased significantly depending on the DUI offender’s BAC at the time of arrest. The following are the penalties imposed on DUI convicts based on BAC level:

• BAC from .17 – .199 – double fine ($1,200 – $4,000)
• BAC from .20 – .249 – triple fine ($1,800 – $6,000)
• BAC from .25 and higher – quadruple fine ($2,400 – $8,000)

Wisconsin’s Implied Consent Law

Wisconsin’s implied consent law states that any motorist driving on the roadways of Wisconsin automatically agrees to a chemical test of their blood, urine or breath to determine whether or not they are intoxicated by alcohol or drugs. If a motorist refuses to submit to testing, they will have their driver’s license revoked for 1 year for the first refusal. Subsequent refusals will garnish stricter penalties similar to those of actual DUI offenses.

Getting Legal Help

DUI charges can affect a person negatively for the rest of their life. If you have been charged with DUI in Wisconsin, hire a top DUI lawyer right away to help you fight your charges. Wisconsin DUI attorneys fight for your rights to ensure that your charges are either significantly reduced or wiped away altogether.

DUI lawyers ensure the best possible outcome for your case. They will investigate the incident and uncover any evidence in your favor to use in court. Rest assured that if you were unfairly charged with DUI, your paralegal will get your case dismissed.

Speak to an elite DUI attorney in Wisconsin today to get started on your case.

Loading...

Pin It on Pinterest