Do You Need A DUI Lawyer In Wyoming?

Did you know that every day, many people involved in a DUI are wrongly accused? Were you aware that as a DUI victim, insurance companies may try to take advantage of you and not issue you the full benefits you deserve? By having a champion DUI lawyer in Wyoming handle your DUI case, you are ensuring yourself top-quality service and that justice is served. Call today for a consultation with an elite DUI lawyer in Wyoming near you.

There are laws in place in the state of Wyoming that render it illegal to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. These laws are known as DUI laws, or Driving Under the Influence laws. There are two ways in which a motorist may incur a DUI in Wyoming. The first is by the “per se” law, which states that any motorist over the age of 21 driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or higher is considered intoxicated, and will therefore be charged with DUI. The second is by traditional DUI laws, which state that if a motorist exhibits physical impairment or appears to have their motor skills hindered, they will be arrested for DUI.

Wyoming imposes stricter laws against commercial vehicle drivers and minors (persons under 21). For commercial vehicle drivers, driving with a BAC level of .04 percent will merit a DUI and minors who drive with a BAC level of .02 percent will also be arrested for DUI.

Once a motorist is charged with DUI, they will have both a criminal court hearing and a case with the Department of Transportation. The criminal case determines penalties such as fines and jail time and the Department of Transportation case determines the fate of the motorist’s license. In Wyoming, any subsequent DUI conviction incurred will have stricter penalties than the previous.

DUI laws in Wyoming are among the toughest in the country. The state even has anti-plea bargaining laws, making it impossible for DUI lawyers to help their clients get their DUI charges dismissed without filing a motion in court stating that there is not enough evidence surrounding the case to proceed with the charges.

Wyoming is also part of the Interstate Driver’s License Compact which means that the state shares information regarding DUI charges with other states. Motorists from out of state that have been charged with DUI and convicted in the past may have those charges affect their current punishments if they incur a DUI charge in Wyoming.

Penalties for DUI Offenders in Wyoming

The following are the possible penalties any motorist found guilty of DUI in Wisconsin may incur:

1st DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment up to 6 months
• Fine up to $750
• Driver’s license suspended 90 days
• Ignition interlock device for 6 months (if BAC above .15 percent)
• Must undergo substance abuse assessment

2nd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment up to 6 months (7 days minimum)
• Fine up to $750 ($250 minimum)
• Driver’s license suspended 1 year
• Ignition interlock device for 1 year
• Must undergo substance abuse assessment

3rd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment up to 6 months (30 days minimum)
• Fine from $750 to $3,000
• Driver’s license suspended 3 years
• Ignition interlock device for 2 years
• Must undergo substance abuse assessment
• Must undergo alcohol education program/treatment
• May be eligible for probation

4th DUI Conviction

• Considered a felony offense
• Imprisonment up to 2 years
• Fine up to $10,000
• Ignition interlock device required for life (may appeal for removal after 5 years)
• Must undergo substance abuse assessment
• Must undergo alcohol education program/treatment
• May be eligible for probation

Implied Consent Law

Wyoming’s implied consent law requires that all motorists in the state submit to a chemical test to determine intoxication. Those who refuse to submit to testing will have their driver’s license suspended for 6 months for the first refusal and 18 months for all subsequent refusals.

Fighting Your DUI Case

A DUI charge can completely alter a motorist’s life for the worse. If you have gotten charged with driving under the influence, speak to a skilled DUI attorney in Wyoming right away to fight your case. With an experienced and diligent paralegal on your side, you can rest assured that your case will end with the best possible outcome.

Many times, motorists are arrested for DUI without probable cause or were issued faulty breathalyzer tests. If this has happened to you, your Wyoming DUI lawyer will not rest until your charges are dismissed. No matter what your situation is, your paralegal will work hard to get your charges reduced or wiped out completely.

Wyoming DUI laws are very strict, and for this reason, you need to hire an acclaimed team of DUI attorneys to represent you and fight for your rights. Call the offices of a leading team of DUI lawyers in Wyoming to get started on your case right away.

Loading...

Pin It on Pinterest