If you thought DUI penalties in the state of Colorado were harsh, they just intensified. House Bill 17-1288 has recently been introduced and was already passed by the Senate. It is now awaiting approval from Gov. John Hickenlooper and what is will do is strengthen DUI penalties that are currently active. The reason behind this is that the state along with lawmakers are tired of individuals continually committing the same crime and putting lives at risk. Driving while intoxicated is not only irresponsible, but it could potentially take a life, or two, or three. This is one of the main reasons why this bill was introduced and why the Colorado General Assembly is highlighting it as a current law.
Were you recently charged with DUI in Denver, and aren’t exactly sure what your rights are or what to expect? It is important that you take the time to hire a Denver DUI lawyer now as they can help you throughout each phase of your case and ensure you and your family understand what is happening, why, and what can possibly be done to rectify it.
What Kind of Penalties are Expected to be Enforced?
A DUI offender with subsequent charges is looking at spending more time behind bars without an opportunity to get the minimum sentence reduced.
Under the current law, if someone commits a forth DUI offense or class 4 felony, they are looking at one of the following probation sentences:
- The defendant is required to serve between 90-180 days, no or more no less, of imprisonment in the county jail. During this mandatory sentence, they are not permitted to receive good-time deductions off of his or her sentence or for trusty prisoner status. The only credit a defendant will receive is any time that was served while in custody for the violation prior to the conviction.
- The other option is as follows: The defendant is required to serve at least 120 days in the county jail but no more than two years “through participation in an alternative sentencing program if such programs are available through the county in which the defendant is imprisoned and only for certain purposes.” With this condition, the defendant is also ineligible to receive any time off of their sentence unless it was time served prior to their conviction for the same offense.
Will I be Required to Complete Probation?
In certain DUI cases, yes, you may be required to complete a certain period of time on probation. This is yet another reason why you want a skilled Denver DUI defense attorney working on your side because they can help persuade a judge into allowing you to spend less time behind bars and more time out and on probation. Of course, though, you will still have to serve the mandatory time stated in the new bill.
In the event the defendant is sentenced to probation, they will be:
- Required to complete between 48-120 hours of useful public service.
- Required to complete a level II alcohol and drug driving safety education or treatment program. This, of course, is at the expense of the offender.
- Other conditions may also apply based on the circumstances surrounding the DUI charge.
The law is rather complex when it comes to DUI charges and you need to know everything you can that applies to your particular case. So, if you or someone you know has been charged with DUI in the Denver area, contact USAttorneys.com now and get connected with a nearby DUI lawyer in Colorado today.