,

How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit Against a Drunk Driver in Florida?

Fort Walton Beach, FL–If you were injured in a drunk driving accident, you may be entitled to recover compensation for your pain and suffering, lost wages, and more. Under Florida law, drivers are required to use reasonable care while behind the wheel of any type of vehicle. 

Because driving while intoxicated is not only illegal but also dangerous, those who drive drunk can be held financially liable in the event they cause a collision.

 

Understanding Florida’s personal injury statute of limitations 

 

If you’re looking to sue the drunk driver who was responsible for causing your accident, Florida law allows you four years from the date of your incident to do so. It’s worth noting that your timeline to sue typically begins right after the collision occurred. 

Should you wait longer than the allotted four years, you run the risk of having your case thrown out, though the statute of limitations is sometimes extended for certain cases.

 

How much can I sue a drunk driver for in Florida?

 

The amount you can seek in damages is based on the impact the accident has had on your life and livelihood. For instance, if your physical abilities are now limited, you could seek compensation for lost wages if you cannot work and even the emotional suffering these limitations have caused you to experience. 

 

You might also seek compensation for the following:

  • Mental anguish. Car accidents can cause a person to experience an array of emotions. If the injuries you sustained limit your physical or cognitive abilities, this can make each day more difficult to get through.
  • Medical expenses. When someone else’s negligence is to blame for a motor vehicle accident, they can often be held liable for covering some or all of a person’s medical expenses. 

 

Things to know before you sue a drunk driver in Florida

 

Florida follows what is called no-fault insurance laws. This means accident victims who are seeking compensation for medical care or pain and suffering must file a claim with their insurance carrier first. Because Florida requires every driver to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance, you should be eligible to receive up to $10,000 to go towards your medical expenses and lost wages.

If your medical costs and lost income amount to more than what your insurance company will pay, you may then bring a claim against the other driver’s carrier. By the end of the insurance claims process you find that you still have unpaid losses, it may be time for you to consider having a Fort Walton Beach, FL personal injury attorney assist you with filing a lawsuit.

Browning Law Firm is a reputable personal injury law firm located in Fort Walton Beach that has helped dozens of accident victims obtain successful verdicts in their cases, including an $850,000 settlement for the victim of a rear-end collision. The lawyers at Browning Law Firm are ready and available to help you understand what your case is worth and can be reached at 850-344-1736 for a free consultation. 

 

Browning Law Firm can be reached at:

 

418 Racetrack Rd. NE, Ste B

Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547

Phone: 850-344-1736

Website: www.browninglawfirm.com

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.