USAttorneys.com can find you a nearby Tyler, Texas accident lawyer who can help you accomplish this as it can sometimes be a challenge to receive adequate compensation for your accident.
When hit by a driver with little insurance coverage or none at all, there are certain options you have and a Tyler, TX accident lawyer can inform you of these.
The state of Texas has a financial responsibility law which requires that each driver carries a certain limit of insurance coverage in the event they engage in an accident. While insurance policies differ with some providing more coverage than others, if a driver elects to only meet state requirements, they only need the minimum coverage.
Currently, the state of Texas requires that every driver carries minimum liability limits which include:
- $30,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident.
- $25,000 for property damage per accident.
This type of coverage is commonly referred to as 30/60/25.
Now, while it is understandable that some drivers can only afford the minimum coverage, it is equally important to be cognizant of the fact that these limits might not cover all the costs associated with an accident caused. And if you were the cause of an auto accident and you are unable to pay for all the damages and/or injuries, you run the risk of being sued. Texas does require that all drivers pay for the collisions they cause so it is up to you to compensate a motorist when you are liable for causing the crash.
Another concern that often arises out of accidents is that a driver might not be carrying any insurance at all. When this happens, you likely are going to need to dig into your own policy, and possibly even your own wallet to cover the costs to make the necessary repairs to your vehicle and pay your medical bills.
What is Uninsured(UM)/Underinsured(UIM) Motorist Coverage?
This type of protection is going to help pay for your expenses caused by a driver with no insurance, a motorist with coverage that isn’t enough to cover your accrued expenses, or a hit-and-run accident. There is a mandatory deductible of $250 you must meet so you are already looking at coming out of pocket $250 before you receive any sort of relief from your insurer.
The state highlights two types of UM/UIM coverage and these are:
- Bodily Injury UM/UIM- This will pay for medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, disfigurement, and disability (both permanent or partial).
- Property Damage UM/UIM- This coverage will pay for auto repairs, a rental car, and any damage done to any items within your vehicle.
Here’s an alternative for you to collect compensation for your vehicular accident
If you aren’t carrying UMM/UIM coverage, the driver who hit you isn’t carrying enough insurance coverage, or they don’t have any coverage, you can always file a lawsuit against the individual. You are going to want to hire a Tyler, Texas accident attorney through USAttorneys.com as they not only work with some of the top attorneys in the state of Texas, but they specialize in these types of cases.
You want someone who possesses knowledge in the field of accident law who is going to fight for you to gain the compensation you not only need, but deserve. If you wish to collect compensation for your injuries after engaging in an accident in Tyler, contact a local Texas accident attorney now. http://www.wagnonlaw.com/