Though no cases of criminal charges being laid against those spreading COVID-19 have been noted in the United States, the chances of facing legal penalties are on the rise, alongside the increasing cases of infections and deaths. A Missouri man who refused to self-isolate despite being sick was addressed by officials and told that he would be forced to self-isolate by law if he failed to comply on his own. Other countries such as Italy and Canada are not taking any chances and individuals are being taken to court and fined for throwing parties and unnecessarily gathering in crowded areas.
No one could have imagined a few months ago that stepping outside when a person has a cough could be enough to get them confronted in court, but such has now become the case. Anyone who is being litigated against for refusing to self-quarantine should get in touch with a felony lawyer in Jackson, MS, as soon as possible to explore their defenses.
There is no clear rulings or changes to the legislation-as of yet, regarding what penalties a person can face for spreading COVID-19. However, if it is discovered that a person knew they carried the virus and they refused to take precautions, they could have to face serious consequences, especially if they managed to infect other people and their passing of the disease is traceable.
If the spreading of the virus knowingly is considered a crime it may go as a misdemeanor crime if not much damage was done, but if a person managed to infect someone who passed away due to the virus, and the relatives of the deceased can prove that the virus was most likely contracted from that individual, then they may be faced with felony charges.
As of yet, those who have potentially contracted the virus and are not self-isolating are merely being confronted and severely warned in the United States and there are no known charges they could be facing.
What are examples of felonies in Mississippi?
Any of the following crimes are considered a felony in Mississippi:
- Burglary of a home
- Aggravated stalking
- Excessive domestic violence
- Theft of over $1000 worth of goods
- Possession of illegal drugs
Generally, victims of a felony crime have 2 years to file a claim and in certain cases, they have 4-5 years. Talking with a legal representative can help a person determine whether they should file against a felony crime right away or whether they have already missed the deadline.
Due to COVID-19 spreading so fast, there are many cases of seriously infected individuals and many cases of death. If a person suspects that they or their loved one was wrongfully exposed to the virus, they should reach out to a lawyer to determine what legal avenues are available for them. Individuals who had their elderly parents or grandparents in nursing homes that were affected with COVID-19 should consider filing a nursing home abuse investigation to determine whether unsanitary conditions and lack of required medical support were what caused the infection to spread.