Upon entering a vehicle being operated by a friend, family member, or even co-worker, it is important that you assess their ability to drive before allowing them to charter you around. The fact is, when you are a passenger inside someone else’s vehicle, you are no longer in control and placed at the mercy of the driver. So, if someone has had a drink or two prior to getting behind the wheel or is known to drive distracted, you may want to reconsider allowing them to take you where you need to go.
In a recent accident that occurred in St. Landry Parish this past Sunday, one passenger learned this the hard way. According to Avoyelles Today, 34-year-old Magdaleno Prado-Marquez was inside a 2005 GMC Sierra being driven by 30-year-old Alfredo Segura-Prado heading northbound on La. Hwy 182 when the vehicle crossed the center line. Segura-Prado attempted to re-enter his lane but over-corrected too much to the right causing his vehicle to run off the road. The vehicle overturned and struck a tree.
When emergency medical personnel arrived at the accident site, they pronounced Magdaleno dead on the scene. The driver, however, sustained serious injuries after being thrown from the vehicle. He was transported to Rapides Regional Medical Center in Alexandria for treatment. Officials believe the driver was operating the vehicle while under the influence and are awaiting lab results from the blood samples that were taken. He was eventually arrested and charged with vehicular homicide for the death of his passenger, careless operation, driving left of center and not wearing a seatbelt. Police stated that Magdaleno was also not wearing his seat belt at the time of the auto accident. The news source reported that once Segura-Prado is released from the hospital, if he hasn’t been released already, he will be booked into St. Landry Parish Jail.
Can I hold a driver accountable for the injuries I sustain as a passenger or for the death of a loved one?
There are certain ways you can collect the compensation you are due in the event you sustained an injury in an accident in Louisiana or a loved one of yours is killed.
- The first way is by filing a claim with your insurance and/or the driver’s insurance company. Every driver in the state of Louisiana is required to purchase 15/30/25 liability limits. That means those limits will provide payments of $15,000 for bodily injury to one person, $30,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in a single accident, and $25,000 coverage for damage to someone else’s vehicle or other property [Source: State of Louisiana Commissioner of Insurance].
- Now, the second type of coverage you may be entitled to collect is medical payments coverage. This will for medical expenses for a certain period of time after an accident has occurred. Payments are made regardless of who is the blame for the accident. Medical payments coverage will cover you, your family members, and other passengers in your vehicle.
- The third option you have given the insurance company isn’t providing you with the
After being injured in an accident as a passenger, you can attempt to collect compensation through your insurer. However, if they aren’t covering the claim, you may need to reach out to a LA car accident attorney who can then intervene and decide what needs to be done.
compensation you need or deserve is to hire a car accident lawyer in Alexandria, LA and have them help you file suit against the negligent driver. The Jones Law Firm is a reputable law firm in Alexandria that was established back in 2009. The car accident attorneys here have helped many victims of auto crashes recover the compensation they deserved while providing the additional support they needed. They can also assist a family member who is looking to file a wrongful death lawsuit in LA given a relative was killed in a crash.
You can contact the Jones Law Firm at:
1330 Jackson Street
Alexandria, LA 71301