After causing a drunk driving accident in Oklahoma that resulted in the death of a mother and wife, Logan Reed decided to speak out to others and educate them on the dangers of driving while intoxicated. In 2018, Reed crashed into 48-year-old Donna Kay Potvin causing her to suffer fatal injuries.
After the tragic accident, Reed was placed on house arrest and “has maintained his sobriety,” says The Oklahoman. He also “speaks frequently to others who have been arrested for drunken driving” and even “speaks at schools about the dangers of drinking and driving.” Perhaps it is for these reasons that District Judge Heather Coyle ordered a rather lenient sentence for Reed. Reed, who had pleaded guilty to first-degree manslaughter which carried a sentence of life in prison, received minimal jail time.
The source says Coyle sentenced Reed to one year of weekends in the Oklahoma County jail along with 35 years of probation on March 4, 2020. During the hearing, Coyle had this to say, “I look at the choices after this event that Mr. Reed has made and how he chose to conduct his life since the day of September 12, 2018.” While there were some conflicting views on the sentence that was given, Reed’s defense lawyer said “I think the outcome was appropriate. There were no winners in this situation. Mr. Reed took full responsibility for what he did from the very beginning.”
What will happen after I am arrested for drunk driving in Oklahoma?
If you were arrested for driving drunk in OK, you are likely going to be charged with DUI. A DUI charge in Oklahoma carries some rather serious penalties so it is recommended that you contact The Henson Law Firm, PLLC. Hiring an Oklahoma DUI attorney after being arrested for drunk driving will not only help you understand your charges but also increase your chances of getting them reduced.
Penalties for DUI in Oklahoma
- Loss of driving privileges.
After a person has been charged with DUI, they will likely lose their driving privileges temporarily. In some cases, an officer may serve you with an affidavit which will serve as a temporary driver’s license that is valid for 30 days. After those 30 days have passed, you will no longer be permitted to drive, that is unless you received your license back from DPS or you were issued a modified driver’s license. It is important to note that not everyone is issued a temporary license to continue driving.
In the event you failed to submit to a breath or blood test, then yourdriver’s license was probably seized by the officer who should have then sent it to DPS. When a person’s driver’s license is confiscated after being charged with DUI, they do hold the right to request a hearing to challenge the ruling. However, if they are unsuccessful, their license shall be suspended for a minimum of six months.
Aside from initially losing your driving privileges after being charged with DUI in Oklahoma, an individual is also looking at having their license revoked for at least one year. This only happens after a DUI offender has been sentenced.
- Jail time.
Another penalty you will likely face after being charged with and convicted of DUI in Oklahoma is jail time. If you accept a plea agreement or are found guilty of your charges during trial, you could be looking at spending anywhere between one and five years in jail. If you were jailed following your arrest, the time served will be reduced from the jail sentence you were given, that is, if you are convicted of the charges that were filed against you.
Aside from taking away your freedom and right to drive, DUI charges can be rather costly. The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety says that being arrested for drunk driving can cost more than $10,000 in fines and fees.
- Ignition interlock device.
After being convicted of DUI, you will likely be required to have installed in your vehicle an ignition interlock device for 18 months. This device prevents you from operating your vehicle with alcohol in your system.
Now, if this is your second DUI, then your penalties will only increase in severity. For example, a second-time DUI offender could potentially have to spend anywhere from one year to 10 years in jail if they are convicted of the crime.
Important: In most cases, the prosecutor will offer the DUI offender a plea agreement which is an agreement where the offender either pleads guilty or no contest to the charges and receives a lighter sentence in exchange.
Connect with a DUI Lawyer in Oklahoma Now
Being charged with DUI doesn’t mean you have been found guilty of the crime—yet. With the right legal representation, you can fight your charges which could result in them being reduced or thrown out. To learn more about the benefits of retaining an Oklahoma DUI defense attorney, contact The Henson Law Firm, PLLC today.
The Henson Law Firm, PLLC is located at:
601 S. Boulder, Suite 600
Tulsa, OK 74119