Two women, who oddly resemble one another in their mugshot photos, were both arrested in Texas on suspicion of driving while intoxicated during the early morning hours on August 8th. Fox 4 stated that the two women, who were identified as 29-year-old Hayley Hollenga and 31-year-old Taylor Berlingeri, had been heading east on Southlake Boulevard when Berlingeri sideswiped Hollenga’s SUV with her pickup truck after she had allegedly lost control of it.
Ofc. Brad Uptmore said that the pickup truck crossed over the median, hit a brick flower bed, went airborne, collided with some trees and small bushes, and landed in the pond in Bicentennial Park. Berlingeri managed to escape from the submerged truck and officers later found her walking down the sidewalk “sopping wet.” The source stated that she “told officers that she just swam out as the car was in there and started walking.”
Thankfully, there was no one in the park at the time of the incident given that it was during the early morning hours and neither of the two drivers were said to have sustained any serious injuries. Unfortunately, officers suspected that both women were operating their vehicles while under the influence and were arrested.
Now, aside from sharing similar appearances, this incident marks the first time both women have been charged with DWI. And being charged with driving while intoxicated is a serious offense in the State of Texas. The fact is, lawmakers frown heavily upon individuals who drive drunk seeing that many cause fatal accidents that are responsible for taking innocent lives. So, in an effort to deter drivers from getting behind the wheel intoxicated, they often set the penalties high.
For instance, the TX Department of Transportation highlights that in the State of Texas, a first time DWI offender will likely be given the following penalties when convicted of the crime:
- A fine of up to $2,000.
- Three days to 180 days in jail.
- Loss of driver license for up to a year.
- Annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for a three-year period in order to retain driver license.
And the penalties only get worse when the driver engaged in an accident or is charged with the crime more than once. Someone who finds themselves facing a DWI charge for the second time will be faced with the following punishments:
- A fine of up to $4,000.
- One month to a year in jail.
- Loss of driver license for up to two years.
- Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for a three-year period in order to retain driver license.
If you were arrested for causing a DWI accident in Dallas, TX and have yet to hire a drunk driving accident lawyer, now would be the best time to contact USAttorneys.com
Now, if you are facing a DWI accident charge in Dallas, TX and it is your first or even second offense, it would be in your best interest to retain a Dallas, TX drunk driving accident lawyer, especially when damage has been done or someone sustained an injury. While the penalties you are up against are severe, with the help of a DUI accident lawyer, you could potentially get your charges reduced which would the lessen the punishments would be faced with.
So, if you were recently arrested for DWI and you were responsible for causing an accident, contact USAttorneys.com and let us connect you with some of our best DWI attorneys in Dallas. They will be sure to not only help you understand your charges, but how they may be able to get them reduced or dismissed.