California – March 7, 2021

A driver in a silver Saturn Vue hit a 47-year-old man who was buckling his child into a car seat.  The hit-and-run incident occurred in a San Diego parking lot pinning the father against his 2017 Toyota Corolla, pushing it into another parked car, leaving him with serious injuries including a pelvic fracture for which he was taken to the hospital.  The 6-year-old child was not injured during the accident where he saw his  father collapse.  An experienced car accident attorney can be instrumental in damage recovery for an accident caused by a hit-and-run driver in California.  Personal injury protection coverage of the injured man’s insurance policy may have to be utilized to cover immediate expenses related to the injury, until the driver that caused the accident is arrested and claims are made against that individual.

California hit-and-run.

A hit and run driver that causes serious bodily injury to another may be charged with a misdemeanor, or a felony.  If individuals are convicted of a misdemeanor violation under CVC 20001(b)(2), they may face a hit and run punishment of:

  • A minimum of 90 days and up to one year in jail,
  • A fine between $1,000 and $10,000 dollars, or
  • Both, imprisonment and a fine.

If individuals are convicted of a felony violation under CVC 20001(b)(2), they may face a hit and run punishment of:

  • Two, three or four years in prison
  • A fine between $1,000 and $10,000, or
  • Both, imprisonment and a fine.

Fault determination.

California is a “fault” state and victims can bring a claim against the responsible party before they file a claim against their own “no-fault” insurance.  There is a two year time period to file a suit after an accident.   A California car accident attorney can help victims of loss understand the mechanisms utilized for monetary recovery valuations.  California law requires that drivers have a way to cover costs related to damages, or injuries they have caused in a car accident. Purchasing liability car insurance is the simplest and most common way people choose to meet this requirement.

Damage compensation.

If the personal injury litigation attorney is successful, a claim award will address the losses that include medical treatment, future medical expenses, changes in life expenses, lost and future wages, and compensation for any future loss of companionship, comfort, and affection.

Hire a lawyer.

Seek legal counsel immediately after a car crash involving a hit-and-run charge that causes severe injury, or loss.  An experienced attorney who is familiar with hit-and-run laws in California can be reached at the Law Offices of Jeffrey E. Estes & Associates, and can be resourceful in the personal injury case against the negligent driver.

 

Jeffrey E. Estes & Associates, a Professional Law Corporation

501 West Broadway, Suite 1650

San Diego, CA 92101

Phone: 619-233-8021

Fax: 619-233-3730

 

Sources:

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=20001

https://www.sandiegouniontribune.com/news/public-safety/story/2021-03-07/man-hit-seriously-hurt-in-hit-and-run-crash-in-rolando-grocery-store-parking-lot

https://www.insurance.ca.gov/01-consumers/105-type/95-guides/01-auto/index.cfm

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *