Colorado – March 4, 2021
Increased size equals increased risk.
A bus is a large and heavy motor vehicle that can carry more than 10 passengers, including the driver. Collisions involving the large, heavy vehicle compared to that of a passenger car increase the likelihood of expensive damage repair, and catastrophic, or serious physical injury to passengers. The total damage amounts may be significantly higher because of the increased number of possible injury victims. A bus accident attorney can guide victim’s action when they have suffered loss after being involved in a bus accident in Colorado.
Common reasons for bus accidents.
- A lack of bus driver training,
- Road conditions, inclement weather,
- Driving under the influence of drugs, or alcohol,
- Distracting driving,
- Limitations to bus driver visibility,
- Aggressive driving techniques, speeding, or dangerous maneuvering of a bus,
- Sudden acceleration, or braking,
- Poor bus maintenance,
- Other driver actions.
Possible negligent parties in a bus accident.
- Bus owner,
- Bus driver,
- Commercial insurer of bus,
- Regulatory agency supporting bus safety on issues of bus manufacturer and parts manufacturer,
- Reckless drivers who cause danger, or changes to bus driver’s safe habits,
- Licensing agencies of privately owned and public transit vehicles, city, county, or state.
Colorado uses a comparative negligence model when the injured driver’s own negligence contributed to the accident. Colorado law allows a victim to recover some of the damages after a bus accident, even if they were partially at fault. Those damages include economic losses related to lost wages, medical bills and property damage, and pain and suffering that has a capped amount each year, with exceptions that can increase the damage cap for pain and suffering. If there is convincing evidence that an increase is justified, up to $936,030.
Filing a bus accident lawsuit.
In accordance with Colorado law, filing a legal claim for a bus accident resulting in personal injury, or wrongful death should be undertaken by a bus accident lawyer within the three-year car accident statute of limitations. If the bus was controlled by the state of Colorado, or any of its cities or counties, such as a public transportation bus, or a school bus, the time to file a claim is only 180 days. Bus accident injuries are generally a result of negligence by either the bus operator, bus owner, a parts manufacturer or other drivers. These include charter bus lines, school district buses, public transit buses, and tour buses. Personal injury attorneys are instrumental in providing negligence due to driver actions, owner maintenance, mechanical error, weather, other drivers, or the road conditions of the transportation route itself.
Hire an attorney.
Seek professional counsel to navigate the legal process for a personal injury, or wrongful death claim due to a bus accident. Victims who are involved in a bus accident in Denver Colorado should contact professional legal counsel who build a case with state and federal legal doctrine to support a claim for damages.
- Can a person who experienced harms from Instagram prove related loss of earnings? - November 11, 2022
- Orlando lawyers help business owners with differences of mergers and acquisitions. - November 11, 2022
- Can a lawyer assist with the Orlando business theft of a Florida corporation? - November 11, 2022