After an individual engages in a car accident with a drunk driver, they are usually looking for justice to be served, especially when the collision resulted in them suffering serious or permanent injuries. Many often wonder if the intoxicated driver will have to serve time in jail or if they are required to provide them with financial relief. The answer is, it depends.
Penalties Drunk Drivers May Face After an Accident in Florida
When a driver is caught operating their vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.08% or higher, they are usually charged with DUI, or driving under the influence. If the driver was engaging in any other type of criminal activity at the time of the accident or it resulted in severe injuries or death, then the charges will differ. However, it is important for accident victims to understand that when an individual is charged with DUI, it doesn’t mean they will be convicted.
If the DUI offender retains a criminal defense lawyer, he/she could get a reduction in charges or work out a plea deal with the prosecutor. This means his/her penalties might differ than those that are usually imposed for a first-time offender, some of which include1:
- A $500-$1,000 fine.
- Up to six months in jail.
- Having their driver’s license revoked for a minimum of 180 days.
If the accident resulted in property damage or personal injury to another, the penalties are as follows:
- Up to a $1,000 fine.
- Up to one year in prison.
- Having their driver’s license revoked for a minimum of three years.
DUI offenders may receive additional penalties including having to serve time on probation and/or complete a substance abuse program.
What are some other ways DUI offenders are punished for causing drunk driving accidents?
In addition to potentially facing a criminal conviction, DUI offenders may also be required to provide a victim with financial relief if the individual files a personal injury lawsuit against them and wins their case. A personal injury lawsuit will help an accident victim recognize the driver for their negligent behavior as well as give them the opportunity to demand compensation for certain damages.
Some of the damages an accident victim can seek when filing a personal injury lawsuit against a drunk driver in Live Oak, FL includes:
- Pain and suffering
- Lost wages
- Mental anguish
- Medical expenses
- Loss of enjoyment of life
If a drunk driving accident victim is looking to recover compensation for the injuries and losses they suffered in a collision, they can always contact a Live Oak, FL personal injury lawyer for help. Koberlein Law Offices is one personal injury law firm located in Live Oak that helps victims of motor vehicle accidents recover the compensation they are due. The personal injury lawyers at Koberlein Law Offices have been described by past clients as “hard-working” and “trustworthy,” and tend to exceed the expectations of those who seek legal help from the firm.
To schedule an initial consultation with an attorney at Koberlein Law Offices, simply call 386-516-2626.
Koberlein Law Offices can be reached at any of their office locations listed down below:
118 Ohio Avenue N, Suite A
Live Oak, FL 32064
855 SW Baya Drive
Lake City, FL 32025
8443 SW 14 Lane
Gainesville, FL 32607